Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Elect President, Senators

April 16, 2012
Two men smiling
Joel Defebaugh, right, and Brett Kahler, both of Casper, are the new president and vice president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming. (Christopher Toley Photo)

University of Wyoming students have elected Joel Defebaugh of Casper, a junior in political science, as president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Brett Kahler of Casper, a junior in communications, was elected vice president.

Defebaugh will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. He also will serve as an ex-officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

More than 20 percent of the eligible voters turned out for the online election held Wednesday through Friday, April 11-13.

ASUW senators, who will serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students, also were elected.

Senators, listed by hometown and the college they represent, are:

Alta -- Hunter Christensen, Business.

Arvada, Colo. -- Taylor True, Arts and Sciences; Samuel Adam Reinicke, Engineering.

Blackfoot, Idaho -- Kia Murdoch, Arts and Sciences.

Casper -- Jaryd Unangst, Arts and Sciences.

Cheyenne -- Claire Dinneen and Joshua Messer, both Agriculture; Cati Calvetti and Eric Ogle, both Arts and Sciences; Brandon Krempels, Engineering.

Dixon -- Jaymie Sheehan, Education.

Douglas -- Cass Igo, Education; Meghan Kolf, Health Sciences.

Evanston -- Brody Tate, Arts and Sciences; Luis Garcia, Engineering.

Fort Morgan, Colo. -- Morgan Powell, Health Sciences.

Franktown, Colo. -- Austin Edward Olson, Health Sciences.

Grand Junction, Colo. -- Kat Hasley, Business.

Green River -- Steve Boyer, Engineering.

Laramie -- Mitchell Nedved, Business; Alex Brink, Arts and Sciences; Dustin Bales, Engineering.

Loveland, Colo. -- Ryan Harry, Education.

Medicine Bow -- Justin Palm, Agriculture.

Pinedale -- Mariah McKay, Arts and Sciences.

Powell -- Megan Darrow, Arts and Sciences.

Ranchester -- Henry Rawlings, Arts and Sciences.

Rock Springs -- Misty O'Lexy, Health Sciences.

Torrington -- Adam Lehmitz, Arts and Sciences.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon