Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Colleges Recognize Faculty/Staff Achievements

May 21, 2012
Woman smiling
School of Nursing Lecturer Holly Miller received the College of Health Sciences' Outstanding Teaching Award.

Each year, all University of Wyoming colleges recognize the accomplishments of outstanding faculty and staff members. The colleges honored the following individuals during the 2011-2012 academic year:

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Faculty and Staff Awards

Agricultural Experiment Station Awards

Outstanding Research Award -- Molecular Biology Professor Don Jarvis.

Early Career Research Achievement Award -- Assistant Professor Jeff Beck in the Department of Ecosystem Science and Management.

Extension Awards

Jim DeBree Excellence in Extension Award -- Alex Malcolm, 4-H and agricultural and natural resources educator.

Creative Excellence Award -- Stan Skrabut, instructional technology educational specialist in the Office of Communications and Technology.

Outstanding Extension Educator Award -- Ron Cunningham, Fremont County educator.

Newer Employee Recognition Award -- Kent Willis, nutrition and food safety educator based in Sheridan.

National Association of County Agriculture Agents Distinguished Service Award -- John Hewlett, farm/ranch management specialist.

National Association of County Agricultural Agents Western Region Achievement Award -- Barton Stam, educator based in Hot Springs County.

College of Arts and Sciences Top 10 Teachers

A. J. Barghothi, Department of Political Science.

Stephen Bieber, Department of Statistics.

Susan Frye, Department of English.

Matthew Gray, Department of Psychology.

Michael Griffith, Department of Music.

Cary Heck, Department of Criminal Justice.

Narina Nunez, Department of Psychology.

Ed Sherline, Department of Philosophy.

Art Snoke, Department of Geology and Geophysics.

Marcus Watson, African American and Diaspora Studies and International Studies.

College of Business Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Junior Teaching Award -- Ronald Pedersen, Department of Accounting; and Charles Stevens, Department of Management and Marketing.

Outstanding Senior Teaching Award -- Sherrill Shaffer, Department of Economics and Finance.

Outstanding Junior Research Award -- Hilla Skiba, Department of Economics and Finance.

Outstanding Senior Research Award -- David Finnoff, Department of Economics and Finance.

Sparky Turner "Raise the Bar" Service Award -- Alexandre "Sasha" Skiba, Department of Economics and Finance.

Enterprise Rent-A-Car Professor of the Year -- Janice Benson, Department of Accounting.

Outstanding Junior Staff Award -- Jeremy Aycock, Dean's Office.

Outstanding Senior Staff Award -- Ema Shenefelt, Department of Accounting.

College of Education Faculty and Staff Awards

Faculty Award for Outstanding Teaching -- Amy Spiker, Elementary and Early Childhood lecturer.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Advising -- Linda Hutchison, Secondary Education associate professor.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Research and Scholarship -- Kevin Roxas, Educational Studies assistant professor.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Research and Scholarship -- Suzie Young, associate dean.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Service to the Education Profession -- Peter Moran, Elementary and Early Childhood department head and associate professor.

Staff Award for Outstanding Service to the College -- Jody Evans, Office of Teacher Education office associate.

Award for Outstanding Contribution toward Improving the Climate of the College -- Mary Alice Bruce, Professional Studies department head and professor.

College of Engineering and Applied Science Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award -- Jerry C. Hamann, Department of Computer Science.

Samuel D. Hakes Outstanding Graduate Research and Teaching Award -- Jefferson Snider, Department of Atmospheric Science.

Outstanding Staff Award -- Susan McCormack, coordinator of student advising.

College of Health Sciences Faculty and Staff Awards

Career Achievement Award -- Professor Paul Tomas, Division of Kinesiology and Health.

Interprofessional/Interdisciplinary Award -- Suzanne Clarke, School of Pharmacy.

Outstanding Teaching in Geriatrics Award -- Pam Larsen, associate dean and professor in the School of Nursing.

Outstanding Teaching Award -- Holly Miller, lecturer in the School of Nursing.

Innovation in Teaching Award -- Carrie Deselms, associate lecturer in the School of Nursing.

New Investigator Award -- Neely Mahapatra, assistant professor in the Division of Social Work.

Outstanding Researcher Award -- Anne Bowen, professor in the School of Nursing.

Meritorious Service Award -- Michelle Hilaire, associate professor in the School of Pharmacy.

Outstanding Staff Award -- David "Mark" Belcher, office assistant senior in the dean's office.

College of Law Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding faculty member -- Professor John Burman.

Outstanding staff member-- Edward Havugimana, information technology specialist.

Commencement Hooders -- Professors Jerry Parkinson and Matt Wilson.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon