Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Faculty, Staff Members Honored at College Recognition Program

January 14, 2013
Animal Science Professor Dan Rule received an Outstanding Educator award.

Professor Dan Rule in the University of Wyoming Department of Animal Science and Extension Educator Bill Taylor, based in Weston County, received Outstanding Educator awards during the UW College of Agriculture and Natural Resources' recent Faculty and Staff Recognition Program.

Nominations were peer-reviewed by a committee composed of a dean’s office representative, an academic department head and a previous award recipient.

Dawn Sanchez, extension educator based in Uinta County, also was nominated.

Students presented two awards through the Office of Academic and Student Programs. Professor Larry Munn in the Department of Ecosystem Science and Management received the Lawrence Meeboer Agricultural Classroom Teaching Award. Students also presented Assistant Professor Brian Mealor in the Department of Plant Sciences the Outstanding Adviser Award.

Other Meeboer nominees were, by department, Associate Professor Dannele Peck, agricultural and applied economics; Associate Professor Paul Ludden, animal science; Professor Ann Hild and Professor David Legg, ecosystem science and management; Professor Mark Gomelsky and lecturer Rachel Watson, molecular biology; and Professor Donal O’Toole, veterinary sciences.

Other adviser nominees, by department, were Hild, ecosystem science and management; Assistant Professor Jay Gatlin and Watson, molecular biology; Assistant Professor Axel Garcia y Garcia and Assistant Professor Andrew Kniss, plant sciences; and Assistant Professor Brant Schumaker, veterinary sciences.

In other awards, Kelcey Christensen, Steve Miller and David Moore received Dean’s Outstanding Staff awards. Christensen is manager of the meat laboratory in the animal science department; Miller is an editor in the Office of Communications and Technology; and Moore is farm manager in the Laramie Research and Extension Center.

Nominations are solicited from faculty and staff members, and a committee makes the final selections.

Other nominees were, by department, Kelly Wiseman, staff assistant and Amanda Corcoran, senior office associate, academic and student programs; Karyn Bercheni, accounting associate and Louise Johnson, accountant, animal science; Travis Smith, livestock manager, Laramie R&E Center; Kara Enyeart, accountant, molecular biology; Brad May, assistant farm manager, Powell R&E Center; Kelly Greenwald, staff assistant, James C. Hageman Sustainable Agriculture Research and Extension Center; and Lindsey Moniz, Wyoming 4-H events coordinator and Cathy Shuster, office associate, UW Extension.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon