Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Jaryd Unangst Receives UW’s Stanford Award for Diversity

February 6, 2013
Man holding beaker
Jaryd Unangst takes advantage of opportunities to conduct research in a UW chemistry laboratory. He was honored for his remarkable contributions to campus diversity. (UW Photo)

Jaryd Unangst of Casper, a senior biology major who minors in international studies and chemistry, was named the recipient of the University of Wyoming’s 2013 Willena Stanford Commitment to Diversity Award.

According to his nominator, “Jaryd has demonstrated a remarkable level of involvement in improving campus diversity since he transferred to UW in fall 2010.” She continues, “I witnessed Jaryd quickly establish himself as a student leader within and beyond the multicultural student community. He has sought leadership opportunities that would allow him to work to improve the campus climate for diversity, built networks between students from diverse backgrounds and mentored other students.”

Unangst is a member of numerous multicultural and social justice RSOs (recognized student organizations) at UW. He was active in the Multicultural Student Leadership Initiative (MSLI) as a mentee (first-year student) in 2010-11. As a mentee, he was invited as an MSLI intern for 2011-12, contributing an important role on the MSLI Steering Committee.

His other leadership roles include ASUW senator (2011-present); United Multicultural Council (UMC) co-chair (2011-12) and treasurer (2012-present); and a facilitator of the Good Mule Conference on social justice (2011-12). He has been an active member within a number of other programs, groups and committees that focus on diversity initiatives and social justice.

Additionally, Unangst also demonstrated leadership in academics. He was named to the Dean’s Honor Roll multiple times and has taken advantage of UW’s opportunities for undergraduate research. He also has been a member (2011-12) and vice president (2012-present) of Alpha Epsilon Delta health pre-professional honorary.

Unangst accepted the award at the annual Willena Stanford Community Supper in the Wyoming Union following the Martin Luther King Jr. march Monday, Jan. 21. More than 250 UW and community guests commemorated the memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and honored Stanford, an inspirational former UW instructor in African American and Diaspora Studies and past member of the MLK March and Days of Dialogue Steering Committee.

Last year’s recipient was Arla Mistica and previous winners include Sydney Ezell, Zanyaille Lyons, Helen Changthongthip, Adriana Magana, Jeremy Joseph and Tracy Montanez.

For more information about the Stanford Award, call Kim Shannon in the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs at (307) 766-5123.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon