Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW's Bruce Culver and Kristy Isaak Receive James C. Hurst Awards

April 15, 2013
Woman and man
Kristy Isaak and Bruce Culver were honored for creating a warm and caring environment for UW students. (UW Photo)

Bruce Culver, director and professor in the School of Pharmacy, and Kristy Isaak, accounting associate, senior, in ASUW, were named the 2012-2013 recipients of the University of Wyoming’s James C. Hurst Each Student-A Person award.

Established by UW’s parent program, Cowboy Parents, the Hurst Award recognizes UW faculty or staff members who go above and beyond their normal responsibilities to personalize the student experience and who create a warm and caring environment for students.

The award honors James C. Hurst, UW's vice president for student affairs from 1981-2000, who is remembered for his warm and caring demeanor, his wisdom and his dedication to student success.

UW students nominate individuals. The Cowboy Parents Council makes the final selection.

A nontraditional student, who takes an Outreach School class taught by Culver, says, “I am 800 miles away, yet I could feel his desire for me to learn, and his determination to help me, which motivated me to do my part. He renewed my passion for my profession, while teaching me, encouraging me and, from what I could hear in his voice -- thoroughly enjoying himself -- and the time he had, to interact with the students.”

One of Isaak’s nominators noted, “In all that she does, Kristy strives to ensure the most meaningful and educational process for the students. She is an instrumental part in the development of leaders in ASUW. She genuinely cares about all of the students at the University of Wyoming. We in the ASUW office encounter this every day, but this is something that should always be thought of as extraordinary.”

Other nominees recognized for making significant impacts on students are Stephanie Anderson, Lay-nah Blue Morris, Conrad Chavez, Robert Colter, Antoinette DeNapoli, Maohong Fan, Ray Fertig, Duncan Harris, H. Gordon Harris, Tricia Johnson, Paul Ludden, Katie Ludwin, Amy McClure, Dan McCoy, Noah Novogrodsky, Lindsey Overstreet, Dona Playton, Christine Porter, Jun Ren, Brian Romero, Azamat Sakiev, Jo Lynne Stalnaker, Ruth Elizabeth Toulson, Jane Warren, Rachel Watson, David Whitman and Brad Williamson.

This award is one of many services sponsored by Cowboy Parents designed to enhance student success. To learn more about Cowboy Parents, visit,

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon