Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Trustees Approve Personnel Appointments

May 13, 2013
Trustees formally approved Robert Sternberg’s appointment as UW’s 24th president.

The University of Wyoming Board of Trustees Approved the following personnel items during its meeting Friday, May 10.

Administrative Appointments

Office of the President

Robert Sternberg as UW’s 24th president. He also will hold tenure at the rank of professor in the Department of Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences and a secondary appointment in the Department of Professional Studies in the College of Education. Sternberg received a B.A. (1972) in psychology from Yale University and the Ph.D. (1975) in psychology from Stanford. Since 2010, he has served as provost and senior vice president; Regents Professor of Psychology and Education; and the George Kaiser Family Foundation Chair in Ethical Leadership at Oklahoma State University. Prior to that appointment, he held administrative and faculty positions at Tufts University and Yale University.  

Legal Affairs

Tara Evans as deputy general counsel. Evans received a B.S. (2002) in molecular biology and a J.D. (2006) from UW. She served as a judicial clerk for the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims in Washington, D.C., and as an assistant attorney general for the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office in Cheyenne. Evans has served as associate general counsel at UW since 2010. Prior to that, she served as special assistant to the president.

Faculty Appointments

College of Education

Department of Professional Studies

Tonia Anne Dousay as instructor. Dousay received a B.S. (1999) in agricultural science and an M.S. (2000) in agricultural education from Texas A&M University, and a Ph.D. (expected 2013) in learning, design and technology from the University of Georgia. Dousay has been a graduate assistant at the University of Georgia since 2009.

Ian Mette as assistant professor. Mette received a B.S. (2004) in resource economics from the University of New Hampshire, an M.A. (2007) in curriculum instruction from Columbia College, an Ed.S. (2008) in educational administration and a Ph.D. (2012) in preK-12 administration from the University of Missouri.

College of Engineering and Applied Science

Department of Atmospheric Science

Xiaohong Liu as professor. Liu received a B.S. (1986) in atmospheric physics, and an M.S. (1989) and a Ph.D. (1992) in atmospheric science from Nanjing University. Liu has been a senior research scientist at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory since 2012. Liu will serve as the Wyoming Excellence Chair in Climate Science.

College of Health Sciences

School of Nursing

Diane Kay Boyle as professor. Boyle received a B.S.N. (1974) from the University of Maryland, an M.S.N (1982) from the University of North Carolina, and a Ph.D. (1990) in nursing from the University of Kansas. She has been an associate professor at the University of Kansas School Of Nursing since 1999. Boyle will serve as the Wyoming Excellence Chair of the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

Shelly A. Fischer as instructor. Fischer received a B.S. (1982) in nursing from the University of Iowa, and an M.S. (1995) and a Ph.D. (expected 2013) in nursing from the University of Colorado. Fischer has been the regional director of professional practice at Banner Health System since 2012.

School of Pharmacy

Becky Linn as clinical assistant professor. Linn received a B.A. (1997) in chemistry and a Pharm.D. (2002) from UW. She has been a pharmacist since July 2002.

Academic Professional Appointment

College of Health Sciences

Antoinette Brown as assistant lecturer. Brown received a B.S. (1992) in pharmacy from UW and has been a regional account manager for Goold Health Systems since 2012.

Faculty promotions to professor:

College of Arts and Sciences:

Department of Anthropology, Sarah Strauss.

Department of Botany, Cynthia Weinig.

Department of Mathematics, Stefan Heinz.

Department of Political Science, Robert A. Schuhmann.

College of Business

Department of Accounting, Eric N. Johnson.

Department of Management and Marketing, Stacey K. Baker.

College of Engineering and Applied Science

Department of Civil and Architectural Engineering, Patricia J.S. Colberg.

College of Health Sciences

School of Pharmacy, Linda G. Martin.

Academic Professional Promotions

Cooperative Extension, Warren K. Crawford, senior Extension educator; and Tara L. Kuipers and Robin A. Schamber, associate Extension educators.

Tenure with promotion to Associate Professor

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics, Matthew A. Arnold.

Department of Animal Science, Kristi Cammack and Scott L. Lake.

Department of Ecosystem Science and Management, Jeffrey L. Beck.

Department of Molecular Biology, Daniel M. Wall and Naomi Ward.

Department of Plant Sciences, Andrew R. Kniss.

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Art, Elizabeth Moore Hunt.

Department of Chemistry, Jing Zhou.

Department of Geology and Geophysics, Ye Zhang.

Department of History, Jeffrey D. Means.

Department of Mathematics, Christopher J. Hall.

Department of Music, Nicole C. Lamartine.

Department of Psychology, Sean M. McCrea, Christine L. McKibbin and Suzanna L. Penningroth.

Department of Theatre and Dance, Jennifer L. Deckert.

College of Business

Department of Management and Marketing, Stephanie A. Oneto.

College of Education

Department of Professional Studies, Jane A. Warren.

Tenure with promotion to professor

College of Law, Noah B. Novogrodsky and Matthew J. Wilson.

Administrative changes in appointments were approved for Thomas Buchanan, as professor, after serving as UW president for eight years; Beth Robitalle, as director with the Family Medicine Residency Program in Casper; and Anne M. Alexander as associate dean of the Outreach School; she retrains her appointment as International Programs director.

Faculty reappointments were approved for Stephen K. Herbert, to associate professor of Plant Sciences, and Chad E. Hutchens, as head of Digital Collections in the UW Libraries.

Retirements were approved for Susan Weidel, general counsel, and Rodney Lang, deputy general counsel.

Trustees also approved tenure-track reappointments, extended term appointments with promotion, extended term appointments and extended-term track reappointments. The complete list of trustee personnel actions can be found in the Trustee Report.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon