Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Wyoming Students Benefit from Rocky Mountain Power Foundation Grant

November 19, 2013

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation awarded $35,000 to the University of Wyoming Foundation during the past fiscal year for education and research programs, and for scholarships for entering freshmen from Wyoming communities. To date, Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation have gifted a total of $769,386 to UW.

“Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is pleased to help provide educational opportunities to young adults,” says Leslie Blythe, Rocky Mountain Power customer and community manager. “The success of Wyoming students is essential to ensuring our communities continue to thrive. College students represent a part of the future of Wyoming, and we’re investing in them by providing scholarships and program funding to the University of Wyoming.”

In addition to the scholarships, the grant supports the following programs: College of Engineering and Applied Science Senior Design Symposium, Environment and Natural Resources, UW Art Museum, Service, Leadership and Community Engagement, and UW/Casper College Center.

“The University of Wyoming Foundation is pleased to acknowledge the generous support of the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation on behalf of our students,” says Joanna Carter, director of Student Financial Aid. “We greatly appreciate the long-standing relationship we share with Rocky Mountain Power and Rocky Mountain Power Foundation. We recognize many students have benefited from the excellent support the company and its foundation have provided to them to meet their educational goals at the University of Wyoming. We genuinely look forward to working with the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation to assist students in the future.”

Rocky Mountain Power Foundation scholarship recipients for the 2013-14 academic year are as follows:

Aurora, Colo. -- Brent Kebert.

Casper -- Caleb Carlson, Amanda Casteel and David Mayer.

Cheyenne -- Katheryn Bolton, Andrew Eckles.

Cody -- Austin Conklin.

Gillette -- Noe Torres-Chacon.

Hulett -- Korina Ike.

Laramie -- Taylor Schumann and Morgan Wilder.

Pinedale -- Tayln Costello.

Riverton -- Joey Roseno.

Rock Springs -- Emilie O'Lexey.

About the University of Wyoming Foundation

The University of Wyoming Foundation is an independent, nonprofit corporation dedicated to securing, managing and stewarding private gifts to support the University of Wyoming’s missions in teaching, research and public service. As the state’s premier four-year institution of higher education, private support from alumni and friends has never been more important.

About the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is part of the PacifiCorp Foundation, one of the largest utility-endowed foundations in the United States. The foundation was created in 1988 by PacifiCorp, an electric utility serving 1.7 million customers in six Western states as Rocky Mountain Power (Utah, Wyoming and Idaho) and Pacific Power (Oregon, Washington and California). The foundation’s mission, through charitable investments, is to support growth and vitality of the communities served by Pacific Power and Rocky Mountain Power. For more information, visit

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon