Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Awards Top Scholarship to 104 Wyoming Students

February 7, 2014

The University of Wyoming has presented its top academic scholarship, the Trustees’ Scholars Award, to 104 outstanding high school seniors from across Wyoming for 2014.

The premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors covers the cost of tuition, fees, room and board for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2014 semester.

Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). For this year’s award winners -- whose application materials were due by Dec. 1 -- the average GPA is 3.98, and the average ACT score is 32.

“The field of applicants for this scholarship is always impressive, but this year was particularly outstanding,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says. “We’re finding more and more Wyoming students are taking rigorous coursework in high school to prepare for college, and that effort is reflected in the measures of their academic performance.”

To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.0 cumulative GPA.

Recipients of the scholarship, listed by high schools they’re attending, are:

-- Burlington High School -- James Davidson.

-- Burns High School -- Wyatt Berg, Mimi Kreuzer, Elijah Childers.

-- Campbell County High School, Gillette -- Daniel Davis, Alex Germann, Conner Lofing, Jackson Moeller, Harrison Simmons.

-- Cheyenne Central High School -- Emily Armitage, Kristina Edwards, Logan Fairbourn, Andrew Gorman, Madison Klopfer, Taylor Means, Kathryn Moncrief, Sarah Morton, Emily Robinette, Taylor Segrave.

-- Cheyenne East High School -- Emily Wood, Kimberly Eckles, Kameron Jensen, Shelby Lewis, Kyle Schumacher, Kayla Starr.

-- Cody High School -- Nathanial McMinn, Ethan Smith.

-- Cokeville High School -- Kaylie Moyes.

-- Douglas High School – Brooke Marcus, Shayla Williams.

-- Greybull High School -- Alexander Havener, Sabrina Heuschkel, Logan Jensen.

-- Jackson Hole High School -- Hannah Collins, Natalie Palmquist, William Frank, Brandon Kortum.

-- Kelly Walsh High School, Casper -- Brent Bihr, Zephaniah Connell, Gabriel Miller, Marcus Rieker.

-- Lander Valley High School -- Andrew Gramlich, Nicholas Merritt, Emily Schimelpfenig, Madeline Smithbaker.

-- Laramie High School -- Isaac Bryant, Ian Hammontree, Chris Huang, Calder Kempema, Emily Leduc, Jingyu Li, Max Machalek, Ann McInroy, Andie Saylor, Gabriel Selting, Slade Sheaffer, Cameron Skinner, Noah Snider, Lia Tan, Blake Wright.

-- Little Snake River Valley High School, Baggs -- Russell Todd.

-- Lovell High School -- Brandon Wolvington.

-- Natrona County High School, Casper -- Nathan Brown, Leslee Christopherson, Jacob Colman, Colby Coughenour, Audrey Haller, Rhett Watson.

-- Newcastle High School -- Lynnell Hanson.

-- Pinedale High School -- Baylee Buchanan, Mark Fenn, Brookely Schamber, Valerie Vidal, Justin Lee.

-- Powell High School -- Mayson Easum, Emma Hanlin, Nicholas Tracy, Quinlan Wetzel.

-- Rawlins High School -- Alex Collier, Laurie DeMillard.

-- Riverton High School -- Autumn Hutson, Kathryn Thayer.

-- Rock Springs High School -- Jessica Fahlsing, Joshua Hansen, Jeffrey Johnson.

-- Sheridan High School -- Morgan Brenneman, Aaron Campbell, Gretchen Dougherty, Kameron Eckard, Alison Geary, Tyler Julian, Molly Ligocki, Sheridan McKinley, Cameron Ralston, Reed Ritterbusch.

-- Shoshoni High School -- Mark Ballou.

-- Star Valley High School, Afton -- Dallin Call, Rachel McArthur.

-- Wheatland High School -- Sawyer Lawrence, Janissa Martinez.

-- Wind River High School, Pavillion -- Tia Hampton.

-- Home school -- Marie Ritschard and Abigail Wilkins, Cheyenne; Jacob Williams, Centennial.

For more information about the UW Trustees’ Scholars Award, as well as other scholarship opportunities at UW, go to

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon