Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW’s Top First-year Course Instructors Honored

March 31, 2014

The University of Wyoming has presented PIE (Promoting Intellectual Engagement) Awards to instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry and autonomy in first-year courses.

PIE Award recipients were nominated online by sophomore students, and then selected by a committee based on thoughtfulness and volume of student nominations, says Jessica Willford, project coordinator.

“Students’ descriptions of nominees reveal the heart of excellence in lower-division instruction, courses that comprise the foundation of students' college experience and the crucial seed of intellectual self-awareness,” she says.

Recipients will be honored at a reception Monday, April 21. The PIE Award is co-sponsored by LeaRN, Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning, Residence Life and Dining Services, and Center for Advising and Career Services.

This year, 394 nominations were received and 105 individual faculty members were nominated. 

PIE Award recipients, and their departments, are:

-- Erin Abraham, history, Honors Program.

-- Michelle Beracha, accounting.

-- Maureen Boddicker, music.

-- Leslie Brown, anthropology.

-- Joshua Clapp, psychology.

-- Scott Culhane, criminal justice.

-- Tareq Dalgamoni, mathematics.

-- Gerald Daniels, mathematics.

-- William Downs, theatre and dance.

-- Tyler Fall, religious studies, Honors Program.

-- Rick Fisher, English.

-- Charles Fournier, English.

-- Pam Galbreath, English.

-- Andrew Garner, political science.

-- Matthew Gray, psychology.

-- Peter Hobson, history.

-- Rachel (Farris) Jennings, mathematics.

-- Guinevere Jones, ecosystem science and management.

-- Jennifer LaVanchy, modern and classical languages.

-- Nina McConigley, English, Honors Program.

-- Adam Myers, physics and astronomy.

-- Shiri Noy, sociology.

-- Diane Panozzo, English, Honors Program.

-- Jon Prather, zoology and physiology.

-- Heather Rockwell, anthropology.

-- David Romtvedt, English, Honors Program.

-- John Spitler, mathematics.

-- Joyce Stewart, English.

-- Justin Stewart, communication and journalism.

-- Sofia Thanhauser, English.

-- Greg Torell, economics and finance.

-- Rachel Watson, molecular biology.

-- John Willford, molecular biology.

-- Aaron Wood, economics and finance.

-- Brianna Wright, botany.

-- Katrina Zook, music.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon