Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Elect President and Senators

April 17, 2014
Two people smiling
Ahmed Balogun of Kwara, Nigeria, left, and Ricardo Lind-Gonzalez of Casper were elected president and vice president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming.

University of Wyoming students have elected Ahmed Balogun of Kwara, Nigeria, a junior in mechanical engineering, as the first-ever international student to be president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Ricardo Lind-Gonzalez of Casper, a junior in elementary education, was elected vice president.

Balogun will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. He also will serve as an ex-officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

A record number of 2,725 students, nearly 33 percent of those eligible, voted in the online election that took place Monday through Wednesday, April 14-16.

ASUW senators, who serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students, also were elected.

Senators, listed by hometown and major, are:

Buffalo -- Brian Schueler, international studies and economics.

Casper -- Clayton Dexter, mathematics and economics; Brent Kebert, elementary education; Sean McQuade, sociology; Trevor B. Scherlin, finance and economics.

Cheyenne -- Joseph Chenchar, J.D. candidate; Alex Krysl, secondary education and mathematics; Joshua Messer, molecular biology; James Segrave, petroleum engineering.

Dayton -- Eilish R. Hanson, agricultural communications; Jaynee Hanson, business administration.

Evanston -- David Petersen, kinesiology.

Gillette -- Briana Long, chemical engineering.

Jackson -- Victor Hernandez, political science.

Laramie -- Daniel Kerbs, mechanical engineering; Ruiqi Yang, computer science and computer engineering.

Powell -- Kadi Cooley, physiology; Emily Kath, communications; Brooke Nisley, social work and international studies.

Ranchester -- Sarah Maze, physiology and pre-medicine.


Arvada -- Josh Disberger, finance.

Denver -- Caitlin Monaghan, musical theater.

Evans -- Emily De Wett, criminal justice and gender and women’s studies.

Evergreen -- Timothy Perez, communications.

Fort Morgan -- Morgan Powell, kinesiology and health promotion.

Granby -- McCall Linke, agricultural communications.

Highlands Ranch -- Tyler Bloom, criminal justice and pre-law.


Deerfield -- Chris Ryan, secondary education and history.


North Platte -- Tia Kalkowski, speech pathology.


Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon