Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming

Global Resource Navigation

Give to UW
Download UW Viewbook
Visit Campus

Cody's Wyatt Fabrizio Receives UW's INBRE Transition Scholarship

May 20, 2014

The INBRE Transition Scholarship he received to attend the University of Wyoming will allow Wyatt Fabrizio to continue his pursuit of his educational dreams.

“The scholarship will not only help me pay for my future education, but also keep me engaged in something that I am very interested in,” says Fabrizio, of Cody. "It gives me a new opportunity to explore the sciences that intrigue me so much.”

Fabrizio, who recently received his associate of science degree in pre-pharmacy from Northwest College, is one of seven students from Wyoming’s community colleges who received INBRE Transition Scholarships to study and conduct research at UW this fall.

He plans to take a year of undergraduate courses at UW before applying to the university’s pharmacy program.

UW’s IDeA Networks for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) program awards INBRE Transition Scholarships to outstanding life science students from Wyoming's community colleges where INBRE-sponsored research is conducted. For two years, students receive up to $2,500 each semester to pursue degrees and receive training in UW research laboratories.

After their first semester, students join a UW faculty member's lab, where they will conduct research for the remainder of their degree programs.

“I am very grateful that I was chosen to receive the Transition Scholarship,” Fabrizio says.

UW is one of 22 institutions funded by the National Institutes for Health INBRE Program. INBRE funding is intended to enhance biomedical research capacity; expand and strengthen the research capabilities of biomedical faculty; and provide access to biomedical resources for promising undergraduate students throughout the eligible states.

Other students who received the scholarship include:

Comitan, Mexico -- David Rach, Northwest College.

Conrad, Mont. -- Rachel Lamb, Central Wyoming College.

Kinnear -- Russell Goff, Central Wyoming College.

Riverton -- Tyler Graham, Central Wyoming College.

Rock Springs -- Anne Salisbury, Western Wyoming Community College.

Rock Springs -- Brent Rhodes, Western Wyoming Community College.

Wyatt Fabrizio was one of seven Wyoming community college students who received an INBRE Transition Scholarship from the University of Wyoming.

Share This Page: