Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Colleges Honor Faculty and Staff Award Winners

May 12, 2014

At the end of each academic year, University of Wyoming colleges recognize faculty and staff members for exemplary contributions and accomplishments.

Following is a list of some of those recognized during the 2013-14 academic year:

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Outstanding Educator Award -- Professor Randy Weigel, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; and Associate Professor Gerry Andrews, Department of Veterinary Sciences.

Lawrence Meeboer Agricultural Classroom Teaching Award -- Assistant Professor Andrew Kniss, Department of Plant Sciences.

Outstanding Adviser Award -- Associate Professor Chris Bastian, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics.

2013 Young Scientist Award from the Society for In Vitro Biology -- Assistant Professor Sadanand Dhekney, Department of Plant Sciences.

Wyoming Agricultural Experiment Station Early Career Award -- Assistant Professor Jay Gatlin, Department of Molecular Biology.

James C. Hurst "Each Student-A Person" Award -- Rachel Watson, Department of Molecular Biology.

Jim DeBree Excellence in Extension -- Scott Hininger, educator, Sheridan County.

UW Extension’s Diversity Enhancement Recognition Award -- Kim Reaman, volunteer development specialist; and Warren Crawford, youth development specialist, State 4-H Program.

UW Extension Newer Employee Recognition Award -- Rachel Mealor.

UW Extension Creative Excellence Award -- David Keto.

College of Arts and Sciences

Exemplary Faculty Award -- Jim King, Department of Political Science.

2014 Top 10 Teachers -- Stephen Bieber, Department of Statistics; Jennifer Deckert, Department of Theatre and Dance; Erin Forbes, Department of English; Adrienne Freng, Department of Criminal Justice; Jacob Goheen, Department of Zoology and Physiology; John Hoberg, Department of Chemistry; Pamela Innes, Department of Anthropology; Douglas Russell, Department of Art; Justin Stewart, Department of Communication and Journalism; and Bonnie Zare, Gender and Women's Studies.

George Duke Humphrey Distinguished Faculty Award -- Ed Clennan, Department of Chemistry.

James C. Hurst "Each Student-A Person" Award -- Charles L. Angevine, Department of Mathematics.

John P. Ellbogen Meritorious Classroom Teaching Award -- Jeffrey Selden, Department of Mathematics.

Presidential Award for Excellence in Research -- Francis W. "Bill" Flynn, Department of Zoology and Physiology.

UW Distinguished Graduate Faculty Mentor -- Harold Bergman, Department of Zoology and Physiology.

UW Outstanding Adviser Award -- Meg Flannigan Skinner, Department of Zoology and Physiology.

College of Business

College of Business Advisory Board Faculty Performance Awards -- David Finnoff, Department of Economics and Finance; Eric Johnson, Department of Accounting; and Krista Lewellyn, Department of Management and Marketing.

Enterprise Rent-A-Car Professor of the Year -- Penne Ainsworth, Department of Accounting.

Gov. Geringer Award for Promising Young Scholars -- Andrew Arnette, Department of Management and Marketing.

MacDonald Family Faculty Fellow in Finance -- Hilla Skiba, Department of Economics and Finance.

Outstanding Junior Research Award -- Joseph Cooper, Department of Management and Marketing.

Outstanding Junior Teaching Award -- Hilla Skiba, Department of Economics and Finance.

Outstanding Senior Research Award -- Ed Barbier, Department of Economics and Finance.

Outstanding Senior Teaching Award -- Linda Kidwell, Department of Accounting.

Outstanding Junior Staff Award -- Jennie Hedrick, Peter M. and Paula Green Johnson Business Career Center; and Lori Lewis, MBA Program.

Outstanding Senior Staff Award -- Karen Rhodine, Dean’s Office; and Denise Sheen, Academic Advising Center.

Sparky Turner “Raise the Bar” Service Award -- Teresa Stephenson, Department of Accounting.

College of Education

Award for Outstanding Advising -- Craig Shepherd.

Award for Outstanding Contribution toward Improving the Climate of the College -- Vicki Gillis.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Research and Scholarship -- Samara Madrid.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Service to the Educational Profession -- Nikki Baldwin.

Faculty Award for Outstanding Teaching -- Terry Burant.

Outstanding Graduate Student Award for Significant Accomplishments -- Adil Bentahar.

Staff Award for Outstanding Service to the College -- Debbie Martinez.

College of Engineering and Applied Science

Alumnus Eminent Engineer -- Harold McCaskey.

Outstanding Staff Award -- Erin Essary.

Ellbogen Lifetime Teaching Award -- Thom Edgar.

Outstanding Tau Beta Pi Member Award -- Elizabeth (Libby) Hungerford.

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award -- H. Gordon Harris.

Sam D. Hakes Outstanding Graduate Research and Teaching Award -- Maohong Fan.

Tau Beta Phi Outstanding Staff Award -- Debbie Craft.

Wyoming Eminent Engineer -- Thom Edgar.

College of Health Sciences

Dean’s Award for Lifetime Service to the College -- Roberta Cesko, School of Pharmacy.

Innovation in Teaching Award -- Linda Williams, associate lecturer, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

Interprofessional Award -- Ann Marie Hart, associate professor, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

Meritorious Service Award -- Beth Robitaille, clinical associate professor and program director, Family Medicine Residency Program .

New Investigator Award -- Mark Guiberson, assistant professor, Division of Communication Disorders.

Outstanding Career Achievement -- Bruce Culver, professor, School of Pharmacy.

Outstanding Teacher Award -- Susan Steiner, professor, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

Staff Award 0 to 5 years -- Sara DiRienzo, Wyoming Institute for Disabilities.

Staff Award 5 years or more -- Debra Shoefelt, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

Teaching in Geriatrics Award -- Cheri Bellamy, assistant lecturer, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing.

College of Law

Graduation Hooders -- Matt Wilson, associate dean; and Steve Easton, professor.

Outstanding Faculty Member -- Jacquelyn Bridgeman, interim dean.

Outstanding Staff Member -- Lisa Nunley.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon