Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Range Management Students Third at International Competition

March 16, 2015

The University of Wyoming placed third and five team members placed in the top 10 percent among the 158 students from 25 colleges and universities competing in the International Society for Range Management’s (SRM) Undergraduate Range Management Exam (URME).

The UW team won a tiebreaker with the University of Alberta and was one point from tying second-place South Dakota State University. The University of Nebraska-Lincoln won the event, at SRM’s recent meeting Feb. 3 in Sacramento, Calif.

UW students in the top 10 were Erick Ramerth, Big Lake, Minn., and Kelsey Welter, Aurora, Colo., who tied for ninth, and Barbara Bender, Lake Forest, Calif., who placed 10th.

“Eight of the UW students placed in the top 20 percent, and all of the UW students placed in the top half,” says Derek Scasta, an assistant professor in the Department of Ecosystem Science and Management. He coached the team with Julia Workman, a plant sciences master’s degree student.

The students are rangeland ecology and watershed management majors in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. They have practiced for the competition since September, says Scasta, who is a UW Extension range specialist.

“The URME is a two-hour professional examination with six subject-specific areas and includes real-world problems requiring complex calculations,” he says.

The exam is so similar to the one taken by professionals to earn SRM’s certified professional in rangeland management designation that the exam requirement is waived for students placing in the top 10 percent and have at least five years’ experience after graduation, Scasta adds.

UW team members are:

Aurora, Colo. -- Kelsey Welter.

Big Lake, Minn. -- Eric Ramerth.

Clearmont -- Shelby Baumgartner.

Flower Mound, Texas -- Amanda Lee.

La Junta, Colo. -- Andee Leininger.

Lake Forest, Calif. -- Barbara Bender.

Meeker, Colo. -- Ethan Overton.

Meeteetse -- Nolan Hicks.

Reedley, Calif. -- Jessica Windh.

Riverton -- Shay Horton.

Scottsbluff, Neb. -- Tevyn Baldwin and James Burford.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon