Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Education Graduates, Mentors Honored at UW-Casper Pinning Ceremony

May 19, 2015

Pins honoring their completion of a semester-long public school residency were presented to 21 University of Wyoming at Casper (UW-Casper) education graduates at a recent reception. The graduates then presented their mentor teachers with UW-Casper sports bags as a gesture of gratitude for fostering their growth as educators.

Tyler Smathers, recipient of the Sue Jorgensen Excellent Student in Education Award, spoke about the journey he and his peers have traveled together, followed by a talk by Leslie Rush, associate dean and professor of education.

After presenting Park Elementary School teacher Angela Ourth with the Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, and Natrona County High School teacher Chris Iselin with the Practicum Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, partner schools facilitator Marcia Patton began the pinning ceremony with words of appreciation to building administrators, mentors, families and friends.

Jennifer Forrester, Keonghee Tao Han and Lydiah Nganga, supervising faculty members of UW-Casper education students in residency, facilitated the pinning of graduates and recognition of the mentor teachers.

The following students and their mentors, listed with the schools in which they fulfilled their residency requirements, were pinned:

Bar Nunn Elementary School -- Erika Jensen Brown with mentor Rebecca Murray; Ashley Layne with mentor DeAnn Russell; Ida Weber with mentor Meagan Dye; and Tyler Smathers with mentor Randy Ridgeway.

Manor Heights Elementary School -- Amanda Armstrong with mentor Joey Bullock; Hannah Wille with mentor Angie Geiger; Heather Olsen with mentor Susie Mayhue; Ashley Allred with mentor Cynthia Brachtenbach; and Katie O’Keefe with mentor Heather Feraud.

Mills Elementary School -- Kirsten Gaudreau with mentor Jamie Warren.

Park Elementary School -- Erendira Garcia with mentor Angela Ourth; Michelle Hill with mentor Nicole Dundas; and Cassandra Igo with mentor Sarah Rowland.

Sagewood Elementary School -- Destinee Vaughn with mentor Brandy Bentz; Kayla Syvertson with mentor Kim Lau; Lisa Whiteaker with mentor Susie Strom; and Stephanie Wood with mentor Shawn Galles.

Special Education Services -- Rhonda Kraus with mentor Heather Avery.

Woods Learning Center -- Ciera Sivertson with mentor Deyonne Jackson; Zachary Ley with mentor Nicole Roden; and Brittny Brammer with mentor Karen Bayert.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon