Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Outstanding UW Agriculture Students Receive Honors

May 7, 2015

Outstanding students affiliated with the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Wyoming were recognized by the Wyoming chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta during its recent awards program. Gamma Sigma Delta is the international honor society of agriculture.

Receiving outstanding student awards were:

Outstanding Freshman -- Melanie Whitmore, Bear River, animal and veterinary sciences.

Outstanding Sophomores -- Tevyn Baldwin, Mitchell, Neb., agricultural business/rangeland ecology and watershed management; Cole Foreman, San Jose, Calif., agricultural business/animal and veterinary sciences; and Rachel Purdy, Pine Bluffs, agricultural business.

Outstanding Juniors -- Jonathan Miller, Laramie, animal and veterinary sciences; and Hannah Shoults, Van Tassell, animal and veterinary sciences.

Outstanding Seniors -- Daniel Adamson, Laramie, agroecology; McKensie Harris, Laramie, animal and veterinary sciences; Marley Mardock, Estes Park, Colo., animal and veterinary sciences; and Courtney Nordhus, Commerce City, Colo., family and consumer sciences.

Outstanding Masters students -- Hannah Cunningham, Meeker, Colo., animal and veterinary sciences; and Samantha Day, Lorton, Va., soil science.

Outstanding Doctoral student -- Helmuth Aguirre, Laramie, entomology.

Departments within the college also presented honors. They include:

Agricultural and Applied Economics (AGEC)

Western Agricultural Economics Association Outstanding Senior -- Hannah Gorman, Gillette.

Outstanding Agricultural Business Senior -- Charity Burkey, Gering, Neb.

AGEC Exceptional Achievement Award -- Austin Traphagan, Yuma, Colo.

Agricultural Communications

Honor Book -- Shane Bell, Laramie.

Animal Science

Honor Book -- McKensie Harris, Laramie.

American Society of Animal Science new members -- Seniors: Rachel Balcom, Cheyenne; Brittany Hamilton, Osage; McKensie Harris, Laramie; Marley Mardock, Estes Park, Colo.; Eilise Patrick, Laramie; and Brittney Rodgers, Laramie.

Juniors: Jacob Chaloupka, Saint Charles, Ill.; Cole Foreman, San Jose, Calif; Mary Lenz, Holyoke, Colo.; Jonathan Miller, Laramie; Brandt Mortensen, Sanford, Calif.; Katelyn Newman, Elbert, Colo.; Hannah Shoults, Van Tassell; and Laura Strohecker, Casper.

Sophomores: Erin Bentley, White Sulphur Springs, Mont.; Erin Hansen, Laramie; Kelly Munson, Houston, Texas; and Melanie Whitmore, Bear River.

Ecosystem Science and Management

Outstanding student, entomology -- Delina Dority, Casper.

Outstanding student, soil -- Donald “Alex” Foulk, Greentown, Pa.

Outstanding student, rangeland ecology and watershed management -- Philip Klebba, Sheridan.

Outstanding Graduate Student -- Justin Clapp, Kinnear.

Family and Consumer Sciences

Honor Book -- Courtney Nordhus, Commerce City, Colo.; and Michaela Tratos, Laramie.


Honor Book -- Zachary Siler, Jackson.

Molecular Biology

Honor Book -- Claire Korpela, Sheridan; and Mathias McCormick, Laramie.

Irene Rosenfeld Scientific Achievement Award -- Amanda Johnson, Wright; and William Trebelcock, Cheyenne.

Plant Sciences

Honor Book -- Preston Talbert, Wray, Colo.; and Shannon Toomey, Montclair, N.H.

Outstanding Graduate Student -- Dhruba Dhakal, Gorkha, Nepal; and Cara Noseworthy, Medford, N.J.

Veterinary Sciences

Honor Book -- Michala Lindley, Laramie.

The Wyoming Gamma Sigma Delta chapter received the New Chapter Activity Award from Gamma Sigma Delta International.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon