Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW’s Top First-Year Course Instructors Honored

May 11, 2015

The University of Wyoming has presented PIE (Promoting Intellectual Engagement) Awards to instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry and autonomy in first-year courses.

PIE Award recipients were nominated online by first- and second-year students, and then selected by a committee based on thoughtfulness and volume of student nominations, says Kara Duggan, project coordinator.

“Students’ descriptions of nominees reveal the heart of excellence in lower-division instruction, courses that comprise the foundation of students' college experience and the crucial seed of intellectual self-awareness,” she says.

Recipients were honored at a reception May 6. The PIE Award is co-sponsored by LeaRN, Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning, Residence Life and Dining Services, and the Center for Advising and Career Services.

This year, 394 nominations were received and 105 individual faculty members were nominated. 

PIE Award recipients, and their departments, are:

-- David Anton, mathematics.

-- Paul Bergstraesser, English.

-- Edward Bradley, agricultural and applied economics.

-- Leslie Brown, anthropology.

-- Joshua Clapp, psychology.

-- Todd Cornish, veterinary sciences.

-- Ellen Currano, botany.

-- George Daniels, mathematics.

-- Laura De Lozier, modern and classical languages.

-- Susan Dewey, gender and women’s studies.

-- William Downs, theatre and dance.

-- David Estes, psychology.

-- Tyler Fall, religious studies and University Honors Program.

-- Scott Freng, psychology.

-- Pam Galbreath, English.

-- Susanna Goodin, philosophy.

-- Patricia Goodson, chemistry.

-- Paul Heller, geology and geophysics.

-- Jacob Hochard, economics and finance.

-- Elijah Johnson, Synergy.

-- Tricia Johnson, elementary and early childhood education.

-- Jason Kirkmeyer, English.

-- Chip Kobulnicky, physics and astronomy.

-- Amy Krist, zoology and physiology.

-- Elizabeth Lynch, anthropology.

-- Nina McConigley, University Honors Program.

-- Amber Mercil, accounting.

-- Matthew Painter, sociology.

-- Jon Prather, zoology and physiology.

-- Julian Saporiti, University Honors Program and Synergy.

-- Jeff Selden, mathematics.

-- Gretchen Sewczak-Claude, kinesiology and health.

-- John Spitler, mathematics.

-- Kenny Thompson, University Honors Program.

-- John Willford, molecular biology.

-- Jody Yelton, accounting.

-- Man-Chung Yeung, mathematics.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon