Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Students Receive Scholarships for UW Dance Festival

July 10, 2015
male dancer holding female dancer up in the air with two more dancers in the background
Students perform in a previous UW Snowy Range Summer Dance Festival. (UW Photo)

Student dancers from Wyoming and six other states have been awarded scholarships to attend the annual Snowy Range Summer Dance Festival July 15-25 at the University of Wyoming.

Hosted by the UW Department of Theatre and Dance, the festival celebrates its 20th anniversary with the opening of the expanded Buchanan Center for the Performing Arts and a residency with the renowned Joffrey Ballet.

The festival offers students intensive study in modern, ballet, tap, jazz and specialty classes with distinguished faculty Susan Israel Massey, Tony Waag, Keith Saunders, Peter Pucci, General McArthur Hambrick and Jacob Mora.

The Student Showcase Concert, featuring participants’ works, is Tuesday, July 21, at 7:30 p.m. in the UW Arts and Sciences auditorium. Admission is free.

The festival culminates with the Gala Concert Saturday, July 25, at 4 p.m. in the UW Arts and Sciences auditorium, featuring works by guest faculty and performances by members of the Joffrey Ballet.

For ticket information, call (307) 766-6666 or go online to For program information, contact festival directors at or (307) 766-2227.

Dance festival scholarship participants, listed by hometown, are:

Casper -- Madison Mclimore.

Castle Rock, Colo. -- Sage Brooks.

Cheyenne -- Caleb Daly, Cassidy Hager and Kytrul Roof.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- Avery Ruff and Emily Stackhouse.

Concordia, Kan. -- Lydia Knapp.

Denver, Colo. -- Leah Kleiner, Sabrina Leira, Julie Rump and Zoe Thompson.

Englewood, Colo. -- Natalie Garland.

Fairplay, Colo. -- Danielle Sprague.

Gering, Neb. -- Madi Bibb and Emily Ostidek.

Glenham, S.D. -- Wilhelmina Giese.

Jackson -- Annie Estes and Sophie Thompson.

Lander -- Jordyn Troxel.

Laramie -- Sophia Douville, Sarah Shinstine, Brian Wolfe and Abby Wood.

Littleton, Colo. -- Grace Weinstein.

Rapid City, S.D. --  Chloe DeMarce, Ruby Evans, Ashley Ruyetts, Hannah Sorestad and Maia Zoller.

Scottsbluff, Neb. -- Makinzie Gregory and Sydney Hinze.

Thornton, Colo. -- Nia Bellamy.

Townsend, Mont. -- Tristen Taylor.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon