Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

First Committee Advances List of Semifinalists in UW Presidential Search

November 6, 2015

The search for a new University of Wyoming president has moved to the next stage, as the first committee involved in the search has approved a list of semifinalists to advance to the second search committee.

The first committee completed its work in a full-day meeting today (Friday). The second committee is scheduled to begin considering the list of semifinalists Thursday, Nov. 12.

The meetings are closed to the public, consistent with the UW Board of Trustees’ plan to keep the names of candidates confidential until the list of finalists is released.

“I express my appreciation to the members of the first committee for their time and dedication in helping the Board of Trustees identify the best possible person to lead the university,” says Trustee Jeff Marsh, who chaired the first committee. “We are forwarding a strong group of candidates to the second committee and are excited to pass the torch in the selection process.”

In addition to Marsh, of Torrington, members of the first committee are trustees Dave True, of Casper, Mike Massie, of Laramie, Michelle Sullivan, of Sheridan, and Mel Baldwin, of Afton; Associate Professor Deborah McGriff, of the College of Education; Law Professor Jacquelyn Bridgeman, who has served as interim dean of the College of Law; Noah Hull, doctoral student in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Susan Manown, who’s pursuing law and Master of Business Administration degrees at UW; Kelly Wiseman, business manager in the School of Energy Resources; Mark Gunnerson, control specialist in the UW Physical Plant; UW Foundation board member April Brimmer Kunz; Susan Stubson, of Casper; and John Turner, of Moose.

The second committee is charged with interviewing candidates forwarded by the first committee and selecting finalists. Finalists will be identified publicly by the Board of Trustees and come to campus for public forums.

As part of the selection process, stakeholders will have an opportunity to meet with the finalists and provide feedback to the Board of Trustees. The full board will conduct separate interviews with each finalist, consider the input from constituents and then fulfill its responsibility of selecting the next president. That could happen as early as late December.

Members of the second committee are trustees Dave Bostrom, of Worland (chair), John McKinley, of Cheyenne, Dick Scarlett, of Jackson, John MacPherson, of Saratoga, and Wava Tully, of Lusk; Professor Cynthia Weinig of the departments of Botany and Molecular Biology, and the Program in Ecology; Professor Jason Shogren of the Department of Economics and Finance; law student Joel Defebaugh, a former president of the Associated Students of UW (ASUW); Brian Schueler, current ASUW president; Josh Decker, manager of UW Real Estate Operations; Rachel Stevens, data and communications manager in the School of Pharmacy; UW Foundation board member Greg Hill; Lynne Cheney, of Jackson; and Lynne Boomgaarden, of Cheyenne.

For complete information about the presidential search, go to Input on the search is still being accepted via email at

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon