Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Senior Honor Society Selects ‘Top Profs’

November 16, 2015
young woman and man with beard in a crowd, smiling at camera
Mortar Board member Karolyn Hopfensperger, of Cheyenne, visits with her “Top Prof,” Jerry Hamann, during a recent recognition ceremony. (Mortar Board Photo)

Members of the University of Wyoming Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board have named their "Top Profs" for the academic year.

All members of the senior honor society selected professors who have made a positive impact on their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed, both in college and later in their careers.

"Being selected as a 'Top Prof' is a great honor for professors because they are chosen by the students," says College of Engineering and Applied Science Professor David Whitman, one of Mortar Board's advisers.

Selection as a member of Mortar Board is one of the highest honors that a UW senior can achieve. Mortar Board recognizes students who have excelled in and out of the classroom, based on scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

Listed by hometown are the UW Mortar Board students, their Top Profs and the professors' disciplines:

Belmont, Mass. -- Yvonne Sciascia, Boyi Dai, kinesiology and health.

Casper -- Teresa Fuller, Amy Marie Navratil, zoology and physiology; Elizabeth Meyer, Marci Leigh Smith, kinesiology and health; Conner Morton, Michael Liebman, family and consumer sciences.

Castle Rock, Colo. -- Caryn Dinkel, Gretchen Mary Sewczak-Claude, kinesiology and health.

Cheyenne -- Paul Drake, Anthony Denzer, civil and architectural engineering; Ann Gibbons, Eva Siglinda Ferre-Pikal, electrical and computer engineering; Jordan Headrick, Erin Abraham, University Honors Program; Karolyn Hopfensperger, Jerry C. Hamann, electrical and computer engineering; James Segrave, Saman Aryana, chemical and petroleum engineering; Katherine Wilkins, Tami B. Benham-Deal, Office of Academic Affairs and kinesiology and health.

Douglas -- Nicholas White, Mary Katherine Scott, International Programs.

Evanston -- Keegan Haukaas, Julian Saporiti, University Honors Program and Synergy.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Julia Bailey, Ali Hechemi Raddaoui, global and area studies; Heather Coburn, Irene Checa-Garcia, modern and classical languages.

Laramie -- Matthew Gern, Jerry C. Hamann, electrical and computer engineering; Heidi Hanekamp, Sherry L. Sinift, music; Ashley Lane, Jason B. McConnell, political science; Kathleen Oolman, Frederico Furtado, mathematics; Rebecca Steinkraus, Cameron Wright, electrical and computer engineering; Richard Yang, Jeff Clune, computer science.

Nederland, Colo. -- Danielle Wood, Terry J. Burant, educational studies.

Newcastle -- Kaitlyn Livingston, Rhoda Schantz, family and consumer sciences.

Pine Bluffs -- Laura Gross, John Hoberg, chemistry.

Powell -- Desiree Murray, Eric Wodahl, criminal justice.

Sheridan -- Kourtney Puckett, Pamela Langer, molecular biology.

Windsor, Colo. -- Kara Purcelley, Emily Guseman, kinesiology and health.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon