Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Fifteen UW Students Honored at Convocation Nursing Awards

May 20, 2016

Fifteen students in the University of Wyoming’s Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing received accolades during the Convocation Nursing Awards May 13. Students in the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral programs who graduated were honored.

“Donors have provided these awards for many different reasons, but all have wanted to encourage and recognize students who excel in nursing specialties, such as family nursing, public health or gerontology, for example,” says Dean of Nursing Mary Burman. “Our school enjoys this presentation, as it offers a way to honor our really outstanding graduates across all of our programs.”

The winners, their majors and hometowns, and descriptions of the awards are as follows:

-- Samantha Baker, a BSN graduate from Powell, won the Gertrude Gould Memorial Award. The honor goes to a senior for excellence in public health nursing practice.

-- Randy Baxter, an online BSN graduate from Powell, won the Making a Difference in Wyoming’s Health Award. The honor is bestowed upon a Wyoming RN/BSN completion student who has demonstrated commitment to continued education and excellence in nursing practice.

-- Chrystal Brown, a Master of Science nurse educator program graduate from Mount Pleasant, Texas, received the Courage to Teach Award. This honor is given to a graduate student nurse for the personification of a critically reflective attitude about learning and teaching.

-- Diana Charlson, a doctoral nursing graduate from Sheridan, won the Dr. Patty Hesen Haslam Leadership Award. This award was created by Ann Marie Haslam Hart, a faculty member in the School of Nursing, in memory of her mother, Patty Hesen Haslam. Haslam was a nursing and public health advocate in southern West Virginia, whose community leadership inspired educational and public health initiatives that had far-reaching effects across southern Appalachia. The award recognizes a graduating nursing student who displayed both grace and leadership in the DNP program.

-- Rachel Choquette, a BSN graduate from Parker, Colo., received the Dorothy Tupper Memorial Award. This honor is given to a senior who best demonstrates caring, compassion and interpersonal communication.

-- Jordan Davis, a BSN graduate from Colorado Springs, Colo., was honored with the School of Nursing Spirit Award. This award is specifically funded by faculty and staff to show appreciation for a basic BSN student who “cheered everyone up, who was a pleasure to have in class, who is a pleasure to be around, and who makes us proud to know as a graduate of our program.”

-- Kelby Dickerson, a BSN graduate from Kimball, Neb., won the Amelia Leino Memorial Award, which recognizes a senior who is outstanding in family nursing. Dickerson has shown great passion in her clinical rotation in the Family Care Unit at Ivinson Memorial Hospital.

-- Michelle Dowling, a doctoral nursing program graduate from Cheyenne, received the Alpha Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau Award. The award is given to a graduate student who is a member of STT and exemplifies advanced nursing practice in a rural context through research and/or clinical practice.

-- Joseph Falcone, a graduate of the Bachelors Reach for Accelerated Nursing Degree (BRAND) program from Cheyenne, won the Dorothy Tupper Senior Memorial Award. The honor is given to a senior who best demonstrates caring, compassion and interpersonal communication.

-- Kali Howe, a BSN graduate from Rock Springs, received the Rudolph “Rudy” and Louise Anselmi and Jeri Kirk Family Trust Nursing Scholarship. The award is given to a senior who best demonstrates leadership and responsibility.

-- Mariah Kepler, a BSN graduate from Golden, Colo., received the Beverly McDermott Award. The honor is given to a senior for leadership and political activism.

-- Kalee Plowman, a graduate of the BRAND program from Cheyenne, won the Passion for Nursing Award. The recognition is given to a student in the BRAND program.

-- Lucas Simmons, a BSN graduate from Gillette, received the Lina Kennedy White Memorial Award. The award is given to a senior with an interest in and aptitude for gerontology.

-- Nellie Simon, a doctoral nursing program graduate from Laramie, won the Carol Macnee Scholarship Award. The honor is given to a graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and/or research throughout his or her academic career at UW.

-- Cheryl Thomas, an RN/BSN graduate in the online nursing program from Bossier City, La., was given the Professional Nurse Award. This honor is given to an RN/BSN completion student who demonstrates excellence in practice, community service and professional service.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon