Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Trustees Elect MacPherson as Board President

May 13, 2016
headshot of man
John MacPherson is the new president of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees.

Saratoga attorney John MacPherson was elected Friday as president of the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees.

MacPherson, who served as the board’s vice president for the past two years, takes the gavel from Dave Palmerlee, of Buffalo.

MacPherson first was appointed as a trustee by Gov. Matt Mead in 2011. In addition to serving as vice president for the board the past two years, he was the board’s secretary in 2012-14.

Also today, Dave True, of Casper, was elected vice president; Jeff Marsh, of Torrington, was elected secretary; and John McKinley, of Cheyenne, was elected treasurer.

Appointed by the governor with consent of the Wyoming State Senate, the UW Board of Trustees consists of 12 members appointed to six-year, staggered terms. As the institution’s governing body, the trustees have a broad range of responsibilities, including major policy and budgetary matters affecting the university.

In addition, the full board today voted in favor of a recommendation from the trustees’ budget committee, adopting a budget of $229,000 for trustees’ meeting expenses in the 2016-17 fiscal year, down from a projected total of $302,000 in the current year. The reductions will be accomplished primarily through less use of UW and state aircraft to transport trustees to and from meetings, and fewer buffet-style meals provided by UW Catering and Events during the board’s multiday meetings.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon