Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Women Researchers Honored in Ceremony

May 9, 2016

University of Wyoming female faculty members, staff and students were honored for their research at the recent OWN It! Awards.

In an effort to support women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), Wyoming EPSCoR created the Own It! Awards, which took place on campus May 4.

The winners are:

-- Jazlynn Hall, geography and anthropology, Undergraduate Award.

-- Karagh Murphy, doctoral candidate in neurology, Graduate Award.

-- Susan Swapp, senior research scientist, geology and geophysics, Staff Award.

-- Melanie Murphy, assistant professor, ecosystem science and management, Early Career Faculty Award.

-- Cynthia Weinig, botany professor, Faculty Award.

-- Dolores Cardona, associate dean of students, Multicultural Affairs, Lifetime Achievement Award.

In all, there were 48 nominations made for 35 UW faculty, staff and students. Nominations came from people on campus who work directly with the nominees.

During the event, Ellen Currano, a UW assistant professor of botany, made a presentation about the Bearded Lady Project, and Weinig discussed UW’s Science Initiative.

For more information, call Liz Nysson at (307) 766-4275.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon