Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Employees Honored at Staff Recognition Day

April 10, 2017
woman sitting on the edge of a desk
Judy Yates was named the University of Wyoming’s outstanding employee of the year during the annual Staff Recognition Day at UW April 10. (UW Photo)

Judy Yates, a UW Department of Secondary Education office associate, today (Monday) was named the University of Wyoming’s outstanding employee of the year during the annual Staff Recognition Day at UW.

She was named from among four individuals who had been selected for UW’s Outstanding Employee of the Quarter Award that recognizes excellence in the workplace.

More than 200 employees were honored for their years of service and contributions to UW. Sponsored by the UW Staff Senate, with support from the UW Office of the President, Staff Recognition Day is an annual event honoring the hard-working staff of UW. It provides an opportunity to show all staff members how much they are appreciated for everything they do to keep the main UW campus, and throughout the state, functioning and providing a top-notch educational experience to thousands of students.

“Cowboy Oscars” was the theme of the latest event that featured door prizes, entertainment, years of service recognition and awards to the university’s outstanding staff members.

Other staff members honored for their contributions to UW were:

Jody K. Humphrey Inspirational Staff Award -- Pam Reeves, Libraries Access Services senior library assistant.

Meyer Family Outstanding Staff Service Award -- Jeanne Moede, Department of English senior office associate; and Lisa Stafford, IT Client Support Services senior computer support specialist.

Off-Campus Awards -- Lisa Harsh, Outreach Regional Offices (Powell) academic coordinator; and Amy Schmidt, Outreach Regional Offices (Riverton) office associate.

Skilled Crafts Award -- Brad Gill, Carpentry Shop senior carpenter.

Skilled Services/Maintenance Award -- Jim Lafleiche, Custodial Services facilities/grounds attendant II.

Staff Incentive Awards -- Lorraine Forcina Barrows, Department of Modern and Classical Languages senior office associate; Katrina Betz, UW Foundation office associate; and Cathy Gorbett, Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning coordinator.

Unsung Hero Full-Time Awards -- Kelsey Anderson, UW Police Department officer; Mollie Hand, Department of Modern and Classical Languages academic adviser; Mary Mesa, Custodial Services facilities/grounds attendant II; and Sarah Rundall, Department of English senior office assistant.

Supervisor of the Year Award -- Denise Gable, Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing business manager.

Peter K. Simpson Golden Gloves Award -- Elizabeth Traver, EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) and IDeA (Institutional Development Award) laboratory technician III.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon