Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Students Selected for UW Summer High School Institute

May 19, 2017

An opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth for 85 talented rising juniors throughout the state will be presented in the 32nd annual Summer High School Institute (HSI) June 4-24 at the University of Wyoming.

The students were selected from high schools across Wyoming. UW offers them an opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth, cultivate their leadership capabilities, and measure their capacities and interests.

UW faculty members will conduct problem-centered classes ranging from philosophy to DNA to robotics and agriculture.

Athletic activities, talent shows, picnics, community service, dances, guest speakers, attendance at local concerts and plays, visits to museums and enrichment excursions will complement the three-week experience.

High school administrators, counselors and teachers guided students through the application process. Selections each were based on an application letter, an essay, two letters of recommendation, academic performance and extracurricular activity involvement.

Begun in 1985, the HSI is sponsored by UW with special funding from the Wyoming State Legislature.

Participants, listed by high school, are:

Big Piney High School -- Isabella Marion and Destiny Redwine.

Buffalo High School -- Marie Ihnat and Jacob Velasquez.

Campbell County High School -- Andrea Bauman, Tarena Deminck, Faith Rhodd and Ivan Sapien.

Central High School (Cheyenne) -- Bailey Bowcutt, Hayden George and Kendra Redding.

Cody High School -- Luke Campbell.

Douglas High School -- Megan Hertz, Alex Lewandowski and Peyton Nystul.

East High School (Cheyenne) -- Maeve Knepper and Emily Purifoy.

Encampment High School -- Noelle Peterson.

Gardiner (Mont.) High School -- Abigail Dean.

Glendo High School -- Kaylee Jacobsen.

Glenrock High School -- Autumn Hiser, Cole James, Zane Moore and Lowell Robinson.

Green River High School -- Abigail Alcorn, Dean Lyon, Matthew Pickering and Elena Wendel.

Green River independent student -- Timothy Radosevich.

Greybull High School -- Ashlyn Ewen, Avery Howe, Stephanie Jones and McKenzie Mazur.

Hanna-Elk Mountain High School -- Cloe Olsen.

Hot Springs County High School -- Aaron Hanson.

Kelly Walsh High School (Casper) -- Lexie Tippin and Maisy Jane Wilkinson.

Lander Valley High School -- Jaclyn Hudson, Cody Slinkard, Riley Williamson and Meann Womack.

Laramie High School -- Caitlin Huang and Caz Norton.

Lovell High School -- Paige Bischoff and Jacob Grant.

Natrona County High School -- Emerson Beck, Matthew Hills, Ben Radosevich and Danielle Zoeller.

Niobrara County High School -- Makena Engelker.

Powell High School -- Austin Chandler, Jasmyne Lensgrav, Alan Merritt and Joelynn Petrie.

Rawlins High School -- Toby Arment, MaKaylah Berkovitz, Nickolas Chavez, Keagan Keplinger, Selena Landa and Mackenzie Steele.

Rock Springs High School -- Jose Andicoechea, Andrew Croft, Kaelen Forrest, Antonina Klatka, Alyssa Klingensmith, Gabrielle Mitchell and Racheal Pinkham.

Rocky Mountain High School (Cowley) -- Kyler Muffett.

Saratoga High School -- Sam Schneider.

Sheridan High School -- Cameron Brown, Kelly Buchanan, Ammon Duncan and Morgan Irvine.

Shoshoni Junior/Senior High School -- Bridgette Fullmer, Ethan Highsmith and Lisa Hoffman.

South High School (Cheyenne) -- Clarissa Antunez and Ella Stringer.

Star Lane Center (Casper) -- Jordan Carlson and Kleo Vlastos.

Sundance Junior/Senior High School -- Lauren Haiar.

Teton High School (Driggs, Idaho) -- Joni Moyer and Taryn Paradis.

Torrington High School -- Quentin Meyer.

Wright Junior/Senior High School -- Shelby Apodaca.

Share This Page:

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon