Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW-Casper Recognizes Students at Awards Night

May 4, 2017
group of people interacting
Student teacher Trenton Vonburg is pinned by Manor Heights Elementary School kindergarten teacher Angie Geiger at a recent recognition event at UW-Casper, while partner schools facilitator Tammie Bertelson and supervising faculty member Lydiah Nganga look on. (UW-Casper Photo)

The University of Wyoming at Casper recognized 38 scholarship recipients, 19 internship recipients, the Sue Jorgensen Excellent Student in Education award recipient, two UW academic department award-winners and the Maggi Murdock scholar at a recent event.

UW-Casper Director Jeff Edgens opened the ceremony with thanks to community donors who contribute to the success of students, Casper College partners, and UW faculty and staff. The event featured awarding of certificates to all student recipients, the education pinning of student teachers and their mentors, and the presentation of the Jorgensen Excellent Student in Education award by benefactor John Jorgensen and Dana Howie of the Board of Cooperative Educational Services.

Maggi Murdock, former UW Outreach School dean, traveled from Laramie to present the Maggi Murdock award, a UW recognition named in honor of her service to statewide education.

Award recipients follow:

Casper Rotary Foundation Scholarship: Andrea Harrington.

Gay Bolin Clinical Laboratory Science Fund: Jordan Smith, Sharon Totsch, Angela Davis, Brady Baker, Laura Rodriguez, Kassandra Willingham, Sakala Mulholland, Courtney Howsden, Alina Sanchez and Katelyn Hoff.

UW-Casper Rocky Mountain Power Enhancement Grant Program: Jacob Daniels, Ian Feather, Jeremiah Benardis and Melissa Heck.

UW-Casper Scholarship Fund: Haley Tolbert and Michael McDaniel.

UW-Casper Education Enhancement Award: Jennifer Newton, Trenton Vonburg, Shiela Fowler, Laura Hanson, Kirsten Gettinger, Michelle Moore, Jessica Borre, Holly Adamson, Savannah Conrad and Jodi Cole.

Myra Fox Skelton Scholarship: Shiela Fowler, Heather Taylor, Andrea Harrington, Laurel Linton and Melissa Heck.

McMurry Foundation Industrial Technology Education Scholarship: Melissa Heck and Jeremiah Benardis.

Kercher Family Scholarship in Medical Studies: Sharon Totsch.

Knape Family Clinical Lab Science Fund: Jessica Miller, Roni Perry, Kaitlin Gerrard, Jacob Huston, Amanda West, Angela Davis and Corey Worden.

Paul Stock Foundation UW-Casper Scholarship: Shiela Fowler and Bethany Colyar.

INBRE Internship Recipients: Tianna Aikey, Isaac Andersson, Lucas Baker, Kendra David, Laura Diesburg, Lewis Hein, Catherine Kerr, Sarah Lees, Laura Paige, Kaylee Schimpf and Haley Tolbert.

Student teachers with their mentors:

Manor Heights Elementary -- Holly Adamson with mentor Jacy Short; Savannah Conrad with mentor Laura McCleary; and Trenton Vonburg with mentor Angie Geiger.

Park Elementary -- Kirsten Gettinger with mentor Lindsey Wheeler; Shiela Fowler with mentor Chris Beemer; and Laura Hanson with mentor Nicole Dundas.

Sagewood Elementary -- Michelle Moore with mentor Shawn Galles.

Natrona County High School -- Dylan Yentes with mentor Chris Iselin.

Sue Jorgensen Excellent Student in Education Award: Kirsten Gettinger.

UW College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Graduate Award: Jacqueline Bradley.

Judge Volney Tidball Book Award: Shelby McRee.

Maggi Murdock Scholar Award: Michael Ogden.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon