Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW’s Top First-Year Course Instructors Honored

May 7, 2018

The University of Wyoming has presented PIE (Promoting Intellectual Engagement) Awards to 34 instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry and autonomy in first-year courses.

The PIE Award recognizes faculty members who inspire students intellectually in first-year courses. It is sponsored by several programs within the Office of Academic Affairs and the Division of Student Affairs: Advising, Career Services and Exploratory Studies, the Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning, the LeaRN Program, and Residence Life and Dining Services.

PIE Award recipients were nominated online by first- and second-year students, and then selected by a committee based on the number of nominations and students’ comments. The committee reviewed more than 120 nominations.

Recipients were honored at a reception last week in the Wyoming Union.

PIE Award recipients and their departments are:

-- Erin Abraham, honors.

-- Steve Bieber, mathematics and statistics.

-- Michele Bird, mathematics and statistics.

-- Maggie Bourque, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources.

-- Stephanie Brockmann, economics.

-- Scott Crawford, mathematics and statistics.

-- Laura De Lozier, modern and classical languages.

-- Kyle De Young, psychology.

-- William Downs, theatre and dance.

-- Tyler Fall, religious studies and honors.

-- Bart Geerts, atmospheric science.

-- Jennifer Geringer, School of Teacher Education.

-- Allison Gernant, English.

-- Rob Godby, economics.

-- Anne Grass, English.

-- Matt Gray, psychology.

-- Mary Hill, English.

-- Chip Kobulnicky, physics and astronomy.

-- Tim Nichols, sociology.

-- Matthew Painter, criminal justice and sociology.

-- Dianne Panozzo, honors.

-- Peter Parolin, English and honors.

-- Jon Prather, Life Sciences Program.

-- Bryan Raya, music.

-- Joseph Russo, education.

-- Meg Skinner, zoology and physiology, and honors.

-- Kari Strube, mechanical engineering.

-- Zach Taylor, School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

-- Jason Thompson, English.

-- Kenny Thompson, honors.

-- Linda Thunstrom, economics.

-- Richard Vercoe, geography.

-- Jim Verley, physics and astronomy.

-- John Willford, molecular biology.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon