Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW English Department Awards Student Study-Abroad Grants

January 30, 2019
two men and two women
UW students who received Department of English study-abroad grants include, from left: Shayne Mazur, Greybull; Keifer Schlekeway, Gillette; Bryan McInerney, Cheyenne; and Olivia Hamilton, Thornton, Colo. (Eric Nye Photo)

The University of Wyoming’s Department of English recently awarded nine students with travel grants ranging from $500 to $4,000 for study-abroad trips this spring. Recipients were seven undergraduate students and two graduate students, including seven from Wyoming.

English majors Shayne Mazur, of Greybull, and Bryan McInerney, of Cheyenne, will spend the spring semester at universities in Norwich, England, and Tours, France, respectively. Their grants are supplied by the Jane L. Tanner Study Abroad Award, established in 2002, which also will support students studying in England, Italy, Japan and Ireland.

Olivia Dorrell, of Laramie, also will spend the spring semester in Europe, while Keifer Schlekeway, of Gillette, will be in Japan. Shanel Snider, of Casper, and Katelyn Moorman, of Green River, will split their time between England and Italy. Olivia Hamilton, of Thornton, Colo., rounds out the group with a trip to London.

Travel by the two graduate students is supported by the Janice H. Harris Excellence Fund, established in 2008, and the Nanci and Sam Andrew English Department Graduate Studies Award, established in 2001. Caroline Fleischauer, of Ithaca, N.Y., will travel to conferences by the Northeastern Modern Language Association and Popular Culture Association, while Jacqueline Bradley, of Casper, will visit Edith Wharton’s house museum in Lenox, Mass.

Once each semester, the Department of English invites its students to apply for support for travel and foreign study. The department expresses appreciation to its benefactors for encouraging its students in this way.

Here’s the full list of spring semester recipients:

Casper -- Jacqueline Bradley, graduate student, and Shanel Snider, undergraduate.

Cheyenne -- Bryan McInerney, undergraduate.

Gillette -- Keifer Schlekeway, undergraduate.

Green River -- Katelyn Moorman, undergraduate.

Greybull -- Shayne Mazur, undergraduate.

Ithaca, N.Y. -- Caroline Fleischauer, graduate.

Laramie -- Olivia Dorrell, undergraduate.

Thornton, Colo. -- Olivia Hamilton, undergraduate.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon