Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW College of Arts and Sciences to Honor Outstanding Graduates

April 17, 2019
group of people in caps and gowns standing outside
UW’s College of Arts and Sciences has named its 2019 class of Outstanding Graduates. (UW Photo)

The University of Wyoming’s College of Arts and Sciences will honor 20 students for its 2019 class of Outstanding Graduates.

Since 1991, the college has annually recognized students ready to graduate who have achieved success inside and outside of the classroom during their academic careers. Honorees are nominated by one of the college’s 21 academic units and are recognized at a luncheon in May. At the luncheon, each is presented with a medallion to wear with his or her cap and gown at commencement.

The college will host its 2019 spring commencement ceremony Saturday, May 18, at 3:30 p.m. in UW’s Arena-Auditorium.

“We are proud of the 2019 class of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Graduates,” Dean Paula Lutz says. “They have achieved this distinction by excelling in their academic majors and participating in a variety of outside activities that benefit the campus and community. We are excited to send them on to the next phase of life and career. We know they will make us proud.”

Listed by hometown, name and academic department, this year’s Outstanding Graduates are:

Cheyenne -- Brian Huynh, mathematics and statistics, and psychology; Kayla Mohler, psychology; and Emily Wood, modern and classical languages, and School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

Dingmans Ferry, Pa. -- Jacob Ahlstrand, psychology, and criminal justice and sociology.

Douglas -- Joshua Walmsley, chemistry.

East Wenatchee, Wash. -- Zachary Parsons, zoology and physiology.

Green River -- John Richardson, School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

Hattiesburg, Miss. -- Shelby McRee, School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

Laramie -- Katherine Heller, English; Jasper Hunt, psychology, and philosophy and religious studies; Shelby Mikkelson, criminal justice and sociology; and Steven Yeager, history.

Littleton, Colo. -- Ryan Parziale, physics and astronomy.

North Fork, Calif. -- Veronica Spaulding, chemistry.

Puyallup, Wash. -- William Scougale, physics and astronomy.

Reston, Va. -- Emily Shaw, mathematics and statistics.

Rock Springs -- Benjamin Audevart, English; and BriAnna Logan, criminal justice and sociology.

Sheridan -- Marissa Hegy, mathematics and statistics.

Spokane, Wash. -- Kenneth Hladeck Jr., anthropology.

A list of previous years’ winners can be viewed at

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon