Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW to Honor Its Top First-Year Course Instructors

April 8, 2019

The University of Wyoming will present PIE (Promoting Intellectual Engagement) Awards to 39 instructors who inspire excitement, inquiry and autonomy in first-year courses.

Recipients will be honored at a reception Tuesday, April 23, in the Wyoming Union East Ballroom.

PIE Award recipients were nominated online by first- and second-year students, and then selected by a committee based on the number of nominations and students’ comments. The committee reviewed more than 150 nominations.

The PIE Award is sponsored by several programs within the Office of Academic Affairs and the Division of Student Affairs: Advising, Career and Exploratory Studies, the Ellbogen Center for Teaching and Learning, the LeaRN Program, and Residence Life and Dining Services.

PIE Award recipients and their departments, schools or colleges are:

-- Carla Beckett, Department of Chemistry.

-- Stephen Bieber, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Michelle Bird, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Karagh Brummond, Summer High School Institute.

-- William Campbell, Department of Economics.

-- Phillip Cantrell, Army ROTC.

-- Joslyn Cassidy, Honors College.

-- Pavel Chernyavskiy, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Joshua Clapp, Department of Psychology.

-- Jamie Crait, Department of Botany.

-- Scott Crawford, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Kyle De Young, Department of Psychology.

-- Tyler Fall, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies.

-- Dan Fetsco, Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology.

-- Scott Freng, Department of Psychology.

-- Allison Gernant, Department of English.

-- Patricia Goodson, Department of Chemistry.

-- Alison Harkin, School of Culture, Gender and Social Justice.

-- Lori Howe, Honors College.

-- Jill Keith, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences.

-- Ryan Kobbe, Department of Civil and Architectural Engineering.

-- Chip Kobulnicky, Department of Physics and Astronomy.

-- Elizabeth Lynch, Department of Anthropology.

-- Lindsay Lynch, Department of English.

-- Bradley McCaskill, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Nina McConigley, Honors College.

-- Daniel McCoy, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources.

-- Shannon McKinzie, LeaRN.

-- Amber Mercil, Department of Accounting and Finance.

-- Timothy Nichols, Department of Criminal Justice and Sociology.

-- Kate Northrop, Department of Visual and Literary Arts.

-- Eric Quade, Department of Mathematics and Statistics.

-- Bradley Rettler, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies.

-- Daniel Rule, Department of Animal Science.

-- Joseph Russo, College of Education.

-- T.K. Stoudt, Marna M. Kuehne Foundation Veterans Services Center.

-- Zachary Taylor, School of Politics, Public Affairs and International Studies.

-- John Willford, Department of Molecular Biology.

-- Yan Zhang, Department of Modern and Classical Languages


Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon