Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Annual Tau Beta Pi Award Ceremony Recognizes UW Students, Faculty

April 28, 2022

University of Wyoming College of Engineering and Applied Science faculty members and students recently received awards from the Wyoming Alpha chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society.

Awards were presented at the annual Tau Beta Pi awards banquet held at UW’s Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center April 15.

Tau Beta Pi is the only engineering honor society representing the entire engineering profession. It is the nation’s second-oldest honor society, founded at Lehigh University in 1885 to recognize students of distinguished scholarship and exemplary character.

Steve Barrett, UW vice provost for undergraduate education and an electrical and computer engineering professor in the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science, is the chief faculty adviser for Tau Beta Pi at UW.

The awards ceremony also marked the induction into the College of Engineering and Applied Science Hall of Fame of Richard “Dick” Agee, as well as the presentation of the College of Engineering and Applied Science Distinguished Service Award to David Whitman.

The 2022 Tau Beta Pi award winners are:

-- Alumnus Eminent Engineer: Lee Larson.

-- College of Engineering and Applied Science Outstanding Staff Award: Elyse Johnson, senior office associate.

-- Joint Engineering Council Outstanding Senior: Oreoluwa Babatunde, of Oyo State, Nigeria.

-- Outstanding Sophomore: Jacob Kravetsky, of Jackson.

-- Outstanding Junior: Jenna Crouse, of Casper.

-- Outstanding Tau Beta Pi Member Award: Katelin Scheuerman, of Worland.

-- Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award: Suresh Muknahallipatna, an electrical and computing engineering professor.

-- Sam D. Hakes Outstanding Graduate Research and Teaching Award: Kam Ng, a civil and architectural engineering associate professor.

-- Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Staff Award: Tyler Grabner, career services associate director.

-- Wyoming Eminent Engineer: Mary Shafer-Malicki.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon