Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

History of the League of Democratic Schools|Wyoming School-University Partnership

Contact Us

Wyoming School-University Partnership
Audrey Kleinsasser, Director
Wyoming Hall 415
Dept. 3374, 1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-6358
Fax: 307-766-3792
Kara Duggan, Office Associate
Wyoming Hall 412
Dept. 3374, 1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-3274
Fax: 307-766-3792
Partnership Logo

History of the League

The national League of Democratic Schools was founded in 2004 by John Goodlad and Dick Clark. The University of Wyoming Lab School was one of seven original schools that began the League, followed by Woods Learning Center in Casper (2005), Guernsey-Sunrise High School (2008), and Star Lane Center in Casper (2010).

The Wyoming School-University Partnership has committed to supporting the Wyoming League of Democratic Schools by (a) hiring a coordinator for Wyoming League Schools and (b) providing funding for half of the $500 membership fee for Wyoming schools to belong to the national League.

National listing of League of Democratic Schools members (2009-2010)

Rocky Mountain/Plains States Region (Judy MacDonald, Regional Coordinator)

  1. New Vista High School, Boulder, CO:
  2. Woods Learning Center, Casper, WY:
  3. University of Wyoming Lab School, Laramie, WY:
  4. Guernsey-Sunrise School (K-12), Guernsey, WY:

Eastern Region (Dianne Bath and Bernard Badiali, Regional Coordinators)

  1. Central Academy, Toledo, OH:
  2. Dayton Regional STEM School, Beavercreek, OH:
  3. Park Forest Elementary School, State College, PA:
  4. Lehman Alternative Community School, Ithica, NY:
  5. Bulloch County Performance Learning Center, Statesboro, GA:

 Western Region (Jim Strickland, Regional Coordinator)

  1. Friday Harbor High School, Friday Harbor, WA:
  2. Lincoln Elementary School, Vancouver, WA:
  3. Pasadena Park Elementary School, Spokane, WA:
  4. Whatcom Day Academy, Bellingham, WA:
  5. Westside Village Magnet School, Bend, OH:
  6. Portola Elementary School, San Bruno, CA:

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon