Faculty Senate Committee Report Fall 2023/Spring 2024 RESEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

Meetings: In the Academic Year 2023/2024, the Chair of the RAC, Ken Sims, met individually with Parag Chitnis twice (08/21/23; 03/26/24), and the Research Advisory Committee (RAC) held two meetings (12/08/23; 03/08/24). The following highlights the major discussions and resulting decisions made during these meetings.

Faculty-Grant-In-Aid (FGIA): For the FY2023/2024 academic year, the committee, in strategic consultation with VP Parag Chitnis, decided not to award Faculty-Grant-in-Aid grants. Instead, we spent the year revising the FGIA guidelines to align more closely with the VP RED office's goals and create a more meaningful and better-balanced FGIA program.

With this goal in mind, the RSC developed a plan with VP Parag Chitnis to send a **Request for Proposals for Faculty Grant-In-Aid** in early Fall 2024 (October 2024). The **FGIA RFP** will provide faculty and staff with larger awards and be two-tiered: *a seed money track* (~5 grants of up to \$15k each) and *a non-seed money self-contained proposal track* (~3 grants of up to \$5k each).

RAC Website: The RAC will create an RSC website. To this end, we are working with the RED Marketing and Communications team, Bryce Tugwell and Trey Zimmer. This website will focus on better informing the UW community of the RAC's function and purpose and providing a one-stop source for funding opportunities from across the campus.

<u>Membership:</u> The committee filled several vacancies to achieve a representative cross-section of campus. Notably, we added three members:

- Elizabeth Minton in the Department of Management & Marketing in the College of Business,
- Jeff Hamerlinck of WyGISC from the School of Computing.
- Daniel McCoy of HAUB, Wyoming Outdoor Recreation, Tourism, and Hospitality

At the end of this year, Greg Brown retired from the University of Wyoming and, subsequently, the RAC. As such, we need to fill this newly created vacancy.

Members:

Kenneth Warren Sims <ksims7@uwyo.edu>, Chair</ksims7@uwyo.edu>	CEPS Geology & Geophysics	2025/1
Brigida R Blasi blasi@uwyo.edu>,	AHC American Heritage Center	2025/1
"Gregory K. Brown" < GKBrown@uwyo.edu>,	CALSNR Botany (RETIRED- Need	
	Replacement	
Jeff Hamerlinck <jeff.hamerlinck@uwyo.edu></jeff.hamerlinck@uwyo.edu>	SOC, WyGIS	2027/1
Dan McCoy <dan.mccoy@uwyo.edu></dan.mccoy@uwyo.edu>	HAUB	2027/1
Christine L. McKibbin <cmckibbi@uwyo.edu>,</cmckibbi@uwyo.edu>	CAS Psychology	2024/1
Elizabeth Minton < eminton@uwyo.edu>	COB, Marketing and Management	2027/1
George A. Mocsary <gmocsary@uwyo.edu>,</gmocsary@uwyo.edu>	COLAW	2024/1
Eric J Moody <eric.moody@uwyo.edu>,</eric.moody@uwyo.edu>	CHS WY Institute for Disabilities	2025/2
Scott Seville <sseville@uwyo.edu>,</sseville@uwyo.edu>	UW Casper	2024/2
Tim Slater <timslaterwyo@gmail.com>, FY 2023</timslaterwyo@gmail.com>	COED Education	2023/1
Denis Shannon < Denis.Shannon@uwyo.edu>,	Library Electronic Resources	2025/1
Dan Wall <dwall2@uwyo.edu>,</dwall2@uwyo.edu>	CALSNR Molecular Biology	2023/2
Haibo Zhai <hzhai@uwyo.edu>,</hzhai@uwyo.edu>	CEPS Civil & Architectural Eng.	2025/1
"Parag Chitnis" <pchitnis@uwyo.edu>, VP</pchitnis@uwyo.edu>	VP Research & Economic Development	NA
Research/ExOfficio		

R = replacement for an unexpired term
1 = first 3-year term
2 = second consecutive 3-year term