UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING

School of Energy Resources Bylaws

I. PURPOSE

The Bylaws of the School of Energy Resources are established by provision of UW Regulation 2-411 (Academic Organization).

II. PREAMBLE

The School of Energy Resources (SER) at the University of Wyoming (UW) was created in 2006 to enhance the university's energy-related education, research and outreach. SER directs and integrates cutting edge energy research and academic programs at UW and bridges academics and industry through targeted outreach programs.

III. DEFINITIONS:

A. ACADEMIC PERSONNEL

The Faculty at the School of Energy Resources shall be comprised of the Executive Director of the School of Energy Resources, all tenured and tenure-track SER faculty, lecturers, and directors of all SER academic programs. Per UW Regulation 2-1, Research Scientists are academic personnel; however, any research scientist/center directors employed at SER under the Senior Director of Research reporting structure are not engaged in the SER academic program and, therefore, are not included in meetings or governance related to the SER academic program.

B. STUDENTS

Students are those enrolled in and majoring in the School of Energy Resources program (code ERS).

C. STAFF

Staff are those who work in the School of Energy Resources, who are not students or faculty.

IV. VOTING PRIVILEGES, RESPONSIBLITIES AND RIGHTS OF FACULTY MEMBERS

The School of Energy Resources Faculty shall have the powers and duties set forth in the UW Regulations, including jurisdiction over academic matters pertaining to the School including determination of curricula, the standards for admission to, continuation in, and graduation from the School of Energy Resources.

With respect to hiring academic personnel, the SER Executive Director and/or Academic Director will seek the advice of SER academic personnel.

With respect to reappointment, tenure, and promotion decisions, the Executive Director of the School of Energy Resources has the right to review the packet of the candidates or applicants for reappointment, tenure, and promotion and to submit a recommendation letter to the department heads of the unit of the candidates.

The voting membership of the School of Energy Resources shall include all faculty. Faculty Emeriti and visiting and adjunct professors and affiliated faculty shall have no voting privileges. Faculty members on sabbatical leave retain the right to vote; however, participation and voting in the School's academic committees are voluntary.

A quorum is achieved when 50 percent of the voting members of the Faculty are present. For purposes hereof, being present shall include either a physical presence or a presence through other communication methods. Proxy votes shall be accepted from voting members of the Faculty who are unable to attend meetings due to professional obligations. Faculty on leave for sabbatical do not vote on governance matters and are not included in the count to achieve a quorum.

V. ORGANIZATION AND GOVERNANCE

The chief administrative officer of the School shall be an Executive Director. The Executive Director shall be responsible for all matters relating to the educational and administrative affairs of the School. There may be one or more Directors appointed by the Executive Director, in consultation with the School of Energy Resources Faculty. The Directors(s) shall assist the Executive Director in all matters relating to the educational and administrative affairs of the School.

The Energy Resources Council, established pursuant to Wyo. Stat. § 21-17-117(e), will be informed of the status of the academic program at SER. In addition and effective July 1, 2021, the SER's budget, which impacts SER's academic program, shall be approved by the Energy Resources

Council, per Wyo. Stat. § 21-17-117(c)(iv). SER and its academic program shall adhere to and follow all UW regulations and policies.

VI. MEETINGS

The Faculty of the School of Energy Resources shall meet at the request of the Executive Director or Academic Director, one of whom shall preside whenever possible. The Executive Director or a designate shall be responsible for giving notice of Faculty meetings. Staff can attend the Faculty meetings as appropriate, but are non-voting members. Faculty meetings can enter executive session during which non-voting attendees will not participate.

VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

The School may establish standing committees. The membership, duties, and governing procedures for committees shall be defined in accordance with any relevant UW Regulations. Membership in standing committees will be determined by the Executive Director in consultation with the Faculty.

Ad hoc committees may be established by the Executive Director following consultation with the Faculty. The Executive Director shall have the responsibility of appointing other committees as the Executive Director deems necessary to assist the Executive Director in performing the administrative functions of the School. Membership in ad hoc committees will be determined by the Executive Director in consultation with the Faculty.

VIII. AMENDMENT OF THE BYLAWS

Consistent with UW 2-411, Bylaws must be approved by 2/3 of Faculty present at the meeting. Alternatively, the Bylaws may be approved by a majority of the faculty within the School. The Bylaws must be approved the by the Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affair and must be reviewed every three (3) years.

IX. CONFLICT BETWEEN COLLEGE BYLAWS AND UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

University of Wyoming Regulations and Standard Administrative Policies and Procedures (SAPP) take precedence over School Bylaws.

Exceptions to University Regulations and Standard Administrative Policies and Procedures must be approved by the Provost and President, and where appropriate, by the Board of Trustees.

BYLAWS ACCEPTED AT FACULTY MEETING ON: November 14, 2022

Approved by Provost: February 3, 2023 Revised: