Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Staff, Students in CEAS Recognized for Contributions

May 1, 2018
View of exterior of Engineering Building
Several members of the CEAS, including staff, faculty and students, were honored in recent weeks.

Several staff and faculty members and students in the College of Engineering and Applied Science have been recognized in recent weeks for their work.

UW Senior Honor Society Names New CEAS Members
The University of Wyoming’s senior honor society has selected 47 new members for the 2018-19 academic year, including four students in the College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. It provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities, and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

The four CEAS honorees include Samantha Maitland (petroleum engineering), Justin Kostelecky (chemical engineering), Kelly Ramaeker (mechanical engineering) and Eloise Fadial, who studies chemical engineering.

The UW Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board was chartered in 1933. UW chapter members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on the UW campus and in the Laramie community.

Tip of the Cap Honorees
Members of the University of Wyoming’s senior honor society recently selected UW staff members to receive the “Tip of the Cap” award. Members of the Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board selected staff members who offered “exceptional contributions to the University of Wyoming and inspiration of students.”

Listed are UW Mortar Board students and their hometowns, along with their “Tip of the Cap” recipients:

Casper -- Paige Ellbogen, Jennifer Kirk, Campus Activities Center; and Marcus Rieker, Gale Bandsma, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Pueblo, Colo. -- Nicole Bellah, Michele Ury Foist, Department of Petroleum Engineering.

Nguyen Honored at UW Ceremony
Graduate students were recognized in April through the Graduate Education Awards, coordinated by Associate Vice President for Graduate Education James Ahern and his office. Those recognized at a luncheon and program included:

Outstanding Dissertation: Anh Nguyen, Department of Computer Science.

Kobbe Takes Home UW Teaching Honor
Associate Academic Professional Lecturer Ryan Kobbe recently was honored by UW. Vice Provost Tami Benham-Deal presented Kobbe with the John P. Ellbogen Meritorious Classroom Teaching Award. The honor was established in 1977 by Casper businessman John P. "Jack" Ellbogen to "foster, encourage, and reward excellence in classroom teaching at UW."

In the nomination letters, one student said Kobbe was very demanding, but made sure students walked away with a greater understanding of engineering. Words such as “passion” and “commitment” were common in the nominations.

Kobbe joins recent CEAS honorees including Paul Dellenback (2017), Cam Wright (2012) and Steve Barrett (2004).

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon