Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Own It, Celebrating Wyoming's Women

2020 Own It! 

Planning for Own It! 2020 will begin in the fall. If you would like to join our planning committee, feel free to contact Lisa Abeyta,, 307-766-6059.


Do you know of an outstanding woman, or women, in STEM deserving of celebration? We are looking to recognize and honor them through Own It!

Criteria for nominations include:

  • A woman student, STEM professional, faculty, or community member wo has made significant contributions to her field of research;

  • who demonstrates service, leadership, and mentoring among her peer group;

  • Inspires teaching and learning among her community;

  • And is deserving of celebrating.

Please provide a strong nomination letter. Click to review Nomination Rubric.


Nomination Categories are:

  • Undergraduate Student

  • Graduate Student

  • STEM Professional

  • Faculty-Early Career or Pre Tenure

  • Faculty-Tenure

  • Community Member

*Past awardee will be recognized but cannot be awarded again. Below are pervious awardees.

Year Undergraduate Graduate STEM Professional Pre-Tenure Faculty Tenure Faculty Lifetime Acheivement Antell STEM Diversity Other
2016 Jazzlyn Hall Karagh Murphy Susan Swapp Melanie Murphy Cynthia Weinig Dolores Cardona
2017 Cena Miller Jimena Benavides Elizabeth Traver Randa Jabbour Merav Ben David Judy Antell Entrepreneur - Jaycee Lindsey, Non-trad - Sophia Daisy
2018 Tayln Costello & Halle Wright Lisa Barrett Janet Dewey Katie Wagner Allyson Anderson Rebecca Carrin Committee Choice - Emilene Ostlind, Community - Carol Kinzer





LAMP STEM Educator Undergraduate Graduate STEM Professional Pre-Tenure Tenure Antell STEM Diversity Community Member

Committee Choice Inspriation

2019 Madison Yager Frances Ngo Libby Megna Lusha Tronstad Karen Vaughan Ana Houseal Christine Porter Diane Wolverton & Kim Vincent

Dianan Hulme


We will honor the work of women in STEM from across campus as well as within the community of Laramie. This recognition helps to increase the visibility of an often overlooked group in STEM, which can be fundamental in encouraging young women to participation in science.  




Contact Us

Wyoming EPSCoR

422 Wyoming Hall Dept 3622

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-3545

Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window) Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon