FACULTY SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

8 April 2024

IN ATTENDANCE:

OFFICERS: Robert Sprague, Chair; Renée Laegreid, Immediate Past-Chair; Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, Secretary; Vladimir Alvarado, Gregg Cawley, and Tiger Robison, Members-at-Large; and Ashley Carlisle, Member-at-Large-Elect. Chair-Elect Ray Stuart Fertig and Member-at-Large Rob Godby were excused.

<u>Guests:</u> Nevan Aiken, Associate Professor, Steve Barrett, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, Dr. Morteza Dejam, Associate Professor, Mandy Jane Gifford, Chief of Staff to the Provost, Laura Heaney, Director of LEARN.

Chair Robert Sprague called the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSE) meeting to order at 12:18 pm.

The Chair called for a motion to approve the agenda; motion made, seconded, and carried.

The Chair called for a motion to approve the minutes of April 1; motion made, seconded, and carried.

The Chair reported that he would need a motion at that afternoon's Faculty Senate meeting to remove the discussion of reporting a concern about free expression (Item VIII) from the Senate Agenda during that afternoon's Senate meeting. The Chair then reported that he had charged Chair of the Faculty Academic Standards, Rights, and Responsibilities Committee Casey Frome to explore a possible syllabus statement regarding freedom of expression by Thursday, April 11, 2024, for presentation at a later Faculty Senate meeting.

The Chair yielded the floor to Chief of Staff to the Provost Mandy Jane Gifford to review the new draft model of the Next Gen USP. Chief of Staff Gifford provided background on the new draft before reviewing the proposal and reported that she was seeking the Committee's feedback. Chief of Staff Gifford reported that she would bring the draft forward to university constituent groups for informal reviews in Fall of 2024. Chief of Staff Gifford then opened the floor to questions. The Committee discussed. The Chair reported that the Committee would review the draft again the following week to allow members not present to provide their comments. All comments would be collected at the next Committee meeting and forwarded to Chief of Staff Gifford.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting, seconded, and carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:48 pm.