FACULTY SENATE UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING Laramie, Wyoming

Minutes of the Meeting of September 27, 2021

A regular meeting of the University of Wyoming Faculty Senate (FS) was called to order by Chair Adrienne Freng at 3:30 p.m., on September 27, 2021, in the Family Room, University of Wyoming Union. Additional FS members and guests were able to join via Zoom.

The roll was called by Senator and Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, with the following senators not in attendance and not represented by official alternate or by proxy: Creel, Edwards, Freedman, Hoberg, Kruger, Lake, Merkle, and Tahmasebi.

Chair Freng called for a motion to approve the agenda. Member at Large Michael Barker moved to amend the agenda to place the President's Report in front of the Chair's report; which was seconded and carried.

Chair Freng called for a motion to approve the minutes of September 13, 2021; motion made by Senator Steve Miller, seconded, and carried.

President Seidel provided a report on a number of initiatives and agendas including areas of improvement for the future; a move to greater digital and computing opportunities; economic development; the Wyoming Innovation Partnership; and entrepreneurship in both course work and in identifying new revenue streams for the university. A question and answer period followed the report.

Chair Freng delivered the chairs report next. She began with a status report on 2-13 committees and current progress. She followed this with a report on the September Board of Trustees meeting, which included information on the updated mask policy, the Provost's changes over the direction and charge of some 2-13 committees, and a vote on a vaccine policy for workers at the Early Care and Education Center (ECEC). Discussion followed.

Hunter Swilling, ASUW President, reported on ASUW events and initiatives, fund raising efforts, and a review of current tuition and fees. He added that ASUW aims to connect with RSOs to see where and how programs can be strengthened, that ASUW senators are looking at consequences of reduced enrollment, and that they are gathering feedback on university restructuring from a student perspective.

Bryan Shader and Gabrielle Allen gave a presentation on the proposed School of Computing, providing information on benefits to students and the state; the academic and administrative structure of the SoC, including new potential hires or transfers; and that the proposal and move towards greater digital literacy is well supported by the Governor and Board of Trustees.

Chair Freng called for ratification of the nomination for Standing Committee Chairs, as a slate. Senator Gregg Cawley moved to approve, followed by a second. Motion carried.

Chair Freng called for ratification of the nomination of Committee Members, as a slate. Member at Large Clifford Marks moved to approve, followed by a second. Motion carried.

Freng brought to the floor for discussion Faculty Senate Resolution 395, "Resolution in Support of Proposed SAPP Accompanying UW Regulation 2-5, *Procedures for Assessing Effective Teaching*". There was no discussion on the SAPP itself. Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz moved to approve the resolution, which was seconded. Member at Large Clifford Marks offered an amendment to remove lines 25 and 26 of the Resolution itself, "WHEREAS, the changes to this SAPP have important implications to the University Faculty and to the welfare of the University". Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz offered a friendly amendment that lines 25 and 26 not be removed, but rather part of line 29, part of line 30, and lines 31-32, in the last paragraph, to read "THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Faculty Senate of the University of Wyoming that Faculty Senate supports the adoption of the 2-5 SAPP, Procedures for Assessing Effective Teaching, as proposed by Academic Affairs." Member at Large Marks accepted the friendly amendment; and the amendment was seconded. Motion passed.

Following that agenda item, Faculty Senators listened to reports and updates from chairs of each of the 2-13 committees. Committee reports were presented by the following chairs: Dave Badgley, Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering; Kelly Crane, Economics and Agricultural Economics and Applied Sciences; Warrie Means, Family and Consumer Sciences; Tristan Wallhead, Kinesiology and Health and Nutrition; John Koprowski, Life Sciences; Danny Dale, Petroleum Engineering and Geology and Geophysics; Dave Mukai, Physics & Astronomy and Atmospheric Sciences; Andrea Burrows, School of Counseling, Leadership, Advocacy, and Design and College of Education; and Scott Turpen, Visual & Performing Arts. Chair Freng also shared 2-13 committee comments provided in advance of the meeting by chairs Tom Peterson, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; and Teena Gabrielson, English/Creative Writing.

It was moved, seconded, and carried to adjourn to Executive Session at 6:05 pm.

Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, Secretary

Thera & Smout almenholtz

Dated: October 1, 2021