University of Wyoming Committee on Committees 2022-2023 Report to Faculty Senate

May 1, 2023

Committee Membership: Nevin Aiken, David Bagley (chair), Jonathan Carrier, Sam Kalen, Kristen Landreville, Amber Mercil, Jeffrey Miller, Samantha Peter, Sandy Root-Elledge

Meetings

The Committee on Committees conducted its work by in AY 2022-2023 by e-mail.

Charge to Develop a Policy for Committee Memberships

On September 6, 2022 Faculty Senate Chair Renee Laegreid charged the Committee on Committees to "evaluate all the FS Standing Committees and align them to meet with the new reorganized colleges representative numbers." The Committee submitted its recommendations to Chair Laegreid in the document "Addressing Membership of Faculty Senate Committees, Academic Year 2022-2023" on December 19, 2022. After providing an analysis of the committee membership changes arising from the 2022 changes in the "Faculty Senate Bylaws" and accompanying document "Establishment of Faculty Senate Committees", the Committee recommended the following action to address over-representation on Faculty Senate Committees:

"Allow over-representation on committees to be resolved over time <u>either</u> by members leaving because they have completed the maximum number of consecutive terms for that committee <u>or</u> by members not being renewed when they complete their first term <u>if</u> there is another member from the same unit continuing."

AY 2022-2023 Challenges

The Committee experienced challenges in identifying members to fill committee vacancies that had not been filled in Spring 2022. The Committee hypotheses that faculty at UW are exhausted from years of uncertainty and change and thus hesitant to take on extra service at this time. As of the writing of this report, the Committee is finalizing its recommendations for committee memberships for Fall 2023. The Committee also plans to work with the Chairs of the other Faculty Senate committees to fill remaining empty committee positions in September 2023.

Other Business

On April 27, 2023, the Committee on Committees re-elected David Bagley, Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering and Associate Dean in the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, to serve as 2023-2024 Chair.

Respectfully submitted,

Dail m. Bryly

David M. Bagley 2022-2023 Chair Committee on Committees