UW Students Honored at Awards Ceremonies

May 7, 2008

University of Wyoming students were recognized and awarded for their involvement and academic achievements at the recent Torchlight Laurels and the Greek Awards ceremonies.

Annually, Torchlight Laurels recognizes more than 400 students for academic excellence, service and leadership.

Among those recognized at the event were the senior members of the University Honors Program; President's Senior Class Ambassadors; Mortar Board; Iron Skull; Cardinal Key, the national junior class service honorary; Spurs; Golden Key international honor society; Student Publications editors; top scholarship recipients; and all-district and all-American UW athletes.

Students who received special scholarships at the event include Megan Bagley (Laramie), Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship; Alyssa Wechsler (Sheridan), Marshall Scholarship; and Ashley Spear (Cheyenne), National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

The Associated Students of the University of Wyoming recognized Elliot Cochran (Breckenridge, Colo.), ASUW Freshman Senator of the Year; Delia Hansen (Evanston), ASUW Student at Large of the Year; and Clayton Elliott (Powell), ASUW Charlotte H. Davis Senator of the Year. The RSO Funding Board received the ASUW Committee of the Year recognition as well.

The Mortar Board recognized Mark Mehn, Mortar Board Outstanding Adviser Award and Ruth Shepherd, Mortar Board Outstanding Service and Dedication Award. Phi Kappa Phi awarded Travis Allen the Phi Kappa Phi Scholarship and Kristen Horner received the Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship.

Other students recognized included Megan Degenfelder (Casper), Charlotte Hearne Davis Scholarship; Amy Berry (Cheyenne) and Kimberly Cranford (Afton), Charlotte Hearne Davis Leadership Scholarship; and Maya Martinez (Cheyenne) and Tarek Salihl (Cheyenne), James C. Hurst Scholarships.

The Iron Skull honorary awarded Elizabeth Rader (Cheyenne) and Elise Scicluna (Wheatland) the Iron Skull Scholarship and recognized Amanda Danielson (Casper) and Susannah Tobey (Copper Center, Alaska) as Iron Skull Outstanding Members.

At the Greek Awards ceremony Daniel Charbonneau (Golden, Colo.) and John Kindle (Riverton) received the Greek Man of the Year award, and Cassidy Chambers (Aurora, Colo.) and Ann Stebner (Rawlins) received the Greek Woman of the Year award.

Other award recipients included Shannon Smith (Evanston) and Ellen Platte (Greenland, N.H.), New Member of the Year award; and Jonathan McBride (Cheyenne), New Member of the Year award.

Sigma Phi Epsilon awards for excellence to gives to Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Alpha Epsilon. Kappa Gamma and Lambda Chi Alpha received community service awards. Delta Delta Delta and Sigma Alpha Epsilon were honored for outstanding chapter programming, and Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Alpha Epsilon were honored for scholastic programming. Sigma Lambda Gamma awarded the Greek Commitment to Diversity award to Pi Beta Phi and Lambda Chi Alpha.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)