UW Scholastic Honor Society Initiates New Members

May 4, 2010

New members from the University of Wyoming were recently initiated into America's original scholastic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa.

Students are selected by local Phi Beta Kappa members and must graduate in the top 6 percent of their class.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776, during the American Revolution, at the College of William and Mary. Since its founding, Phi Beta Kappa has evolved to become the nation's leading advocate for the liberal arts and sciences at the undergraduate level. Phi Beta Kappa elects new initiates each year from 276 chapters nationwide.

Seventeen U.S. presidents and six Supreme Court justices have been members of America's oldest honor society. Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Alexander Graham Bell were lifetime members of the organization.

New Phi Beta Kappa members from UW, listed by hometowns, are:

Casper -- Abbie Patik, psychology.

Cheyenne -- Katie Fields, Lindsey Grubbs and Lindsey Hanlon, English; Maria Lambousis, chemistry; Christopher Poch, English; and Tarek Salih, physiology.

Cody -- Lindsay Capron, physiology; Sarah Gayman, English.

Evanston -- Reynaldo Fuentes, political science.

Evansville -- Hope Dewell, international studies; Jennifer Syvertson, communication.

Gillette -- Alyssa Sorenson, international studies and anthropology.

Green River -- Amber Wilson, philosophy.

Lakewood, Colo. -- Rachel Bernard, zoology & physiology.

Lander -- Thomas Dawson, chemistry.

Laramie -- Leif Cawley, history and anthropology; Jamie Collins, history; Lauren Harrison, geology; Kellen Hiser, English; Christopher Holmes, sociology; Judith Kempe, American studies; Melissa Owen, political science; Caitlin Wheatley, psychology.

Los Alamos, N.M. -- Samantha Stutz, botany.

Loveland, Colo. -- Erin Herlihey, anthropology.

Lovell -- Jacob Watson, physiology.

North Cape May, N.J. -- Caitlin Wallace, political science.

Riverton -- Seth Mathern, physiology.

Rochester, Minn. -- Meghan Lockhart, international studies.

Rock Springs -- Maurissa Radakovich, psychology; Ashley Wing, psychology and social science.

Saratoga Springs, N.Y. -- Deborah Graul, philosophy.

Sheridan -- Lanni Paronto, psychology.

Superior, Colo. -- Lisa Younessian, anthropology.

Thayne -- Kira Hodgson, art and international studies.

Thermopolis -- Benjamin McKay, business administration and finance.

Wheatland -- Sarah Kennedy, anthropology.

Worland -- Gail Dover, psychology.


Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)