UW Releases College of Law Honor Roll

February 9, 2012

The University of Wyoming lists the following College of Law students on the President's and Dean's honor rolls for the 2011 fall semester.

To be eligible for the President's Honor Roll, students must receive a 4.0 grade point average.

To be eligible for the Dean's Honor Roll, second and third-year students must maintain at least a 3.4 grade point average and first-year students a 3.25 or better. In addition, students must be enrolled in at least 13 credit hours of graded coursework.

Since its founding in 1920, the UW College of Law has enjoyed a strong reputation for academic excellence. It has been accredited by the American Bar Association since 1923. In 1985, it was granted membership in the Order of the Coif, a national honorary society that recognizes excellence in legal education. Fewer than half of American law schools have been granted such membership.

The college offers real advantages to students pursuing a legal education. It is among the country's smallest law schools, providing increased opportunities to participate in student organizations, law review, moot court and trial competitions and other activities. Students can gain practical experience by participating in clinical programs, which provide opportunities for client representation, including argument of real cases before the Wyoming Supreme Court. UW students also have more meaningful opportunities to interact with members of the state bench and bar, which improves not only their education but also their job prospects upon graduation.

Thomas Szott of Cheyenne is the only student listed on the President's Honor Roll.

Students listed on the Dean's Honor Roll are:

Afton -- Kelianne Chamberlain.

Basin -- Jennifer Kirk.

Billings, Mont. -- Janna Wittenberg.

Boulder, Colo. -- Andrew Herlihy.

Carlile -- Samuel Yemington.

Casper -- Marci Crank and Kyle Ridgeway.

Centennial, Colo. -- Andrew Priebe.

Cheyenne -- Douglas Bailey, Mary Freeman, Emily Harris, Alexander Obrecht and Timothy Pearse.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- Lance Overstreet.

Conrad, Mont. -- Grant Smith.

Craig, Colo. -- Eva La.

Dayton -- Lucas Wallace.

Denver, Colo. -- Dean Hirt.

Douglas -- Shaina Case.

Elko, Nev. -- Shawn Hillewaert and Matthew Pennell.

Emery, Utah -- Carly Anderson.

Fort Collins, Colo. -- Ryan Bailey, Samuel Kornfeld, Galen Trine-McMahan, Ashley Perkins, Shannon Rogers and Brooks Tueting.

Frankfurt, Germany -- Marlene Martin.

Gillette -- Jeremy Gross.

Great Falls, Mont. -- Adam Warren.

Indian Hills, Colo. -- Rebecca Zisch.

Jackson -- Carina Ostberg.

Kim, Colo. -- Korry Lewis.

Laramie -- Michael Fitzgerald, Julianne Gern, Nathan Shumway, Timothy Sowecke and Matthew Stannard.

Lusk -- Jeffrey Meier.

Manhassett, N.Y. -- Christopher Sherwood.

Pensacola, Fla. -- Victoria Bryant.

Rapid City, S.D. -- Isaiah Gross.

Rawlins -- Kevin Carrico.

Riverton -- Jared Miller and Richard McKinnon.

Sheridan -- Courtney Gilbert.

St. Ignatius, Mont. -- Adrianna Potts.

Thermopolis -- William Vietti.

Valrico, Fla. -- Joshua Eames.

Walden, Colo. -- Curran Trick.

Wamsutter -- Sarah Chavez.

Wheatland -- Alexis Klatt and Sean Larson.

Wilson -- Felicia Resor.

Windsor, Colo. -- Adam Davenport.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)