UW Students Honored at Torchlight Laurels

May 16, 2012

University of Wyoming students were recognized and awarded for their community service and academic achievements at the recent Torchlight Laurels and Greek Award ceremonies.

Annually, Torchlight Laurels recognizes more than 400 students for academic excellence, service and leadership.

Among those recognized at the event were the senior members of the University Honors Program; Cardinal Key and Spurs service honor societies; Golden Key international honor society; Order of Omega Greek leadership recognition; and Phi Kappa Phi outstanding sophomores.

The Associated Students of UW recognized Trevor Scherlin, Casper, as both the freshman senator of the year and ASUW student at large of the year; and Jaryd Unagnst, Casper, was named ASUW senator of the year.

Mortar Board senior honor society recognized Economics Professor David Finoff with its Outstanding Adviser Award; and College of Arts and Sciences Dean Oliver Walter received the Outstanding Service and Dedication Award.

Charlotte Hearne Davis Scholarships, which recognize outstanding freshman senators were presented to: Mitchell Nedved, Laramie; Morgan Powell, Fort Morgan, Colo.; Brian Schueler, Buffalo; and Lora Waeckerle, Rapid City, S.D.

James C. Hurst Scholarships, which recognize minority student leaders were presented to Ahmed Mohamed and Kimberly Sanchez, both from Cheyenne.

Jacob Peters of Buffalo was recognized for receiving a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

At the Greek awards ceremony, Chi Omega's Christine Pond of Casper was named Sorority Woman of the Year; and Sigma Alpha Epsilon's Nathan Mullen, Englewood, Colo., was named Fraternity Man of the Year.

Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)Find us on LinkedIn (Link opens a new window)Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)