

Energy Resources Council Minutes

November 19, 2021 7:30 AM – 1:30 PM

ATTENDANCE

Energy Resources Council (ERC)

Cindy Crane, WY Senator Jim Anderson, Carl Bauer, Thomas Botts, David Emery, Vello Kuuskraa, Mark Doelger and WY House Representative Donald Burkhart. Ex-Officio members: Randall Luthi

University of Wyoming Board of Trustees (UWBOT)

Jeffrey Marsh, John McKinley, Michele Sullivan, Kermit Brown, David Fall, Elizabeth Greenwood, Carol Linton, Macey Moore, Laura Schmid-Pizzato, Dave True. Ex-Officio members: UW President Ed Seidel, Jillian Balow, and UW Provost Kevin Carman

SER Staff & Guests

Holly Krutka, Jerry Evans, Richard Horner, Fred McLaughlin, Lon Whitman, Carrie Ver Berg, John Small, Emma Jane Alexander, Christine Reed, Kami Danaei, Kipp Coddington, Mark Northam, Charles Nye, Phil Black, Kyle Summerfield, Scott Quillinan, Angela Ver Ploeg

JOINT SESSION – UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND THE ENERGY RESOURCES COUNCIL

Welcome

Chairman Crane opened the joint session at 7:24 AM with a warm welcome and introduced Jeffrey Marsh, Chairman of the University of Wyoming's Board of Trustees. Introductions were made and then, ERC Chairman Crane introduced SER Executive Director, Holly Krutka for her presentation.

SER Executive Director Report

A full copy of the SER Executive Director report/PPT is available in the November 2021 ERC Notebook or upon request.

Closure of the Special Session

The special session closed at 8:54 AM.

ERC MEETING ITEMS BY DETAIL

Call to Order

Chairman Crane called the regularly scheduled ERC meeting to order at 8:54 AM.

Approval of Agenda

Motion: Carl Bauer motioned to accept the agenda as presented. Dave Emery seconded it. Motion passed without objection.

Approval of August 2021 Minutes

Motion: Carl Bauer motioned to accept the August 2021 minutes with the following amendment on page 1, Item, Attendance, title correction to read "WY House Representative, Donald Burkhart." Mark Doelger seconded the motion. Motion passed without objection.

Reports/Motions

Full copies of the following SER reports/PPT are available in the August 2021 ERC Notebook or upon request.

- Executive Director Holly Krutka
- Center for Energy Regulation & Policy Analysis Kipp Coddington & Holly Krutka
- Outreach Christine Reed
- 3D Visualization Center Emma Jane Alexander
- Center for Economic Geology Research Fred McLaughlin
- Center for Carbon Capture and Conversion Richard Horner
- Enhanced Oil Recovery Institute (EORI) Lon Whitman
- Academics Kami Danaei
- Research Scott Quillinan
- SER Finance Holly Krutka & Carrie Ver Berg

New Business

Members of the ERC agreed:

- Continue the format of the Joint Session with the UW BOT
- Research a potential change of date for the April 2022 meeting to a date in February or March
- Continue to host meetings in Laramie, Wyoming and to invite the Wyoming Energy Authority (WEA) to participate in a joint session at an upcoming ERC meeting.

WY Representative Mike Greear is stepping down from his appointment to the ERC Board. WY Representative Donald Burkhart will be his temporary replacement until an appointment is determined.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Members of the ERC adjourned the regular meeting at 12:28 PM.

Executive Session

Members of the ERC reconvened into executive session for the purpose of personnel discussion.

Next Meeting Details

ZOOM Meeting for WEA Approvals: January 18, 2022.

The next regularly scheduled meeting is February 10/11, 2021 at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Tasks and Assignments

- Frame the critical positions needed by SER to address Wyoming infrastructure opportunities
- Frame how the ITC would integrate into SER oversight and what would be required
- Add Jim Bridger site to EORI map
- Add headers on every page of the State-funded budget report
- Research possible ERC meeting (April) date change
- Invite WEA to participate in a joint session with the ERC
- Add WY House Representative Donald Burkhart to ERC contact list

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:	
Cindy Crane Chairman	James Anderson Vice-Chairman