THE UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING MINUTES OF THE TRUSTEES

April 22-25, 1966

For the confidential information of the Board of Trustee

Upon call of the President of the Board, a special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University was convened at 9:30 a.m., April 22, 1966 in the Board Room of Old Main for the purpose of interviewing candidates for the presidency of the University.

The following members were present: Brodrick, Brough, Hollon, Jones, McCraken, Millett, Morgan, Newton, Reed, Sullivan, True, and Watt. Governor Hansen joined the meeting for the session on April 23. Ex officio members President Fey and Dr. Shaw were absent.

President Newton advised the Board that all of the persons suggested at the last meeting for invitation to campus had been invited for interview and that all had accepted, with the exception of Frederick H. Jackson, who indicated that he wished to withdraw from consideration, and Floyd Bond who had stated that he could not make himself available for an interview before May.

President Newton also stated that in accordance with the recommendation of the Faculty Committee, he had solicited an expression of interest from both Jim Ranz, Dean of Academic Affairs; and Frank Trelease, Dean of the College of Law, and both had indicated a willingness to be interviewed.

After reviewing with the Board a list of the questions to be asked each of the candidates, and the schedule of appointments whereby each candidate was to meet with the Faculty Committee and the Board, interviews were conducted with the following individuals:

On Friday, April 22

Dr. John T. Hicks, Assistant to the President at Purdue University

Dr. John Schwada, Chancellor of the Columbia Campus, University of Missouri

Dr. Frank E. Duddy, Jr., President Marietta College, Ohio

On Saturday, April 23

Dr. Frank Trelease, Dean of the College of Law, University of Wyoming

Dr. Jim Ranz, Dean of Academic Affairs, University of Wyoming

Dr. Marion E. Marts, Vice Provost, University of Washington

Dr. Marvin A. Rapp, Vice President and Executive Dean, Nassau Community College, Garden City, New York

On Sunday, April 24

Dr. J. Howard Craven, Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank, San Francisco, California

Dr. John E. King, President, Kansas State Teachers College, Emporia, Kansas

Dr. Daniel J. Dykstra, Visiting Professor of Law, Stanford University and former Vice President of the University of Utah

On Monday, April 25, the Board met with the members of the Faculty Committee in the Western History Room of the Library.

Since Dr. Ranz had withdrawn from the committee, Mr. John O. Rames acted as chairman and introduced the following committee members to the Board: Dr. Jack N. Bone, Dr. R. I. Hammond, Prof. Eric J. Lindahl, Dr. R. J. McColloch, Mr. L. G. Meeboer, Dr. J. C. Miller, Dr. John Senior, and Dr. Verne J. Varineau.

INTERVIEWS

The Board received the report of the committee. At the invitation of the Board, members of the Committee then orally presented their evaluation of the candidates interviewed.

The Board then thanked the members of the Advisory

Committee for the devoted attention which they had given to this task
and for their fine assistance. The members of the Committee then
withdrew from the meeting at 11:15 a.m.

After further discussion, the Board recessed for a luncheon with the Advisory Committee at noon and reconvened in the Board Room of Old Main at 1:30 p.m.

Mr. Newton pointed out the need for additional funds by reason of additional meetings and the expenses involved in finding a new president. Mr. Morgan moved, Mr. Millett seconded, and it was carried that an additional appropriation of \$10,000 be authorized for the Board of Trustees' budgets.

Messrs. Meeboer, Meyer, Geraud, Fey, and Benson entered the meeting. Mr. Meeboer called attention to the original agreement with Hutchings, Holzinger, Kellogg & Kellogg, Architects, for the Science Center which was dated April 27, 1963. Under the first interpretation of the regulations governing Federal matching funds, it was believed that any agreement entered into within two years prior to the date of the application for funds would qualify for matching purposes. Just recently a new interpretation indicates that architects' fees prior to passage of the Act are not eligible. Authorization was requested for a modification of the Architect's agreement on two principles: 1) The

BUDGET CHANGE Board of Trustees

ARCHITECT'S
AGREEMENT
SCIENCE CENTER

Record of Minutes of

site has been changed; and 2) the whole concept of the structure has been changed. A revised agreement was presented which Dean Meyer stated he believed would qualify the project for matching funds under the Higher Education Facilities Act. After considerable disucssion of the revised agreement, Mr. Millett moved that the proposed agreement be consummated, except that the agreement recite that \$18,000 be retained by the architect for services rendered under the agreement entered into on April 27, 1963, and that \$25,000 previously paid to the architect be credited to future fees determined under this contract. Mr. Reed seconded the motion and it was carried. Messrs. Meeboer, Meyer, Geraud, Fey and Benson then withdrew from the meeting.

After further consideration of the candidates interviewed, by ballot it was determined that the following would be given first consideration: Dykstra, Hicks, King, Marts, and Ranz. President Newton stated that he would write to the references submitted by them and ask that they write or telephone him concerning the candidates.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m. to meet again on June 3, 1966, or upon earlier call of the President of the Board.

Respectfully submitted,

Harold E. Brough

Harved El

Secretary

PRESIDENTIAL

ADJOURNMENT