Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Rocky Mountain Power Foundation Scholarships Benefit Wyoming Students

December 1, 2009

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation during the 2009-10 academic year contributed to the University of Wyoming $30,000 for education and research programs and scholarships for graduate students and entering freshmen.

"Not only are we supporting students with limited means, we're encouraging greater participation in science, math and business fields that directly impact our local communities," says Matt Grant, Rocky Mountain Power community manager. "We're pleased to help sow the seeds for a more talented workforce."

A portion of the gift will fund 13 scholarships of $1,000 for freshmen from Wyoming communities. Programs to receive funds include the College of Engineering and Applied Science Senior Design Symposium, Ruckelshaus Institute and Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, UW Art Museum, UW Center for Volunteer Service, and the UW/Casper College Center, among others.

Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation have gifted $566,000 to UW since 1991.

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is part of the PacifiCorp Foundation, one of the nation's largest utility-endowed foundations. The foundation was created in 1988 by PacifiCorp, an electric utility serving 1.7 million customers in six Western states as Rocky Mountain Power (Utah, Wyoming, and Idaho) and Pacific Power (Oregon, Washington, and California). The foundation's mission, through charitable investments, is to support growth and vitality of the communities it serves.

For more information, visit

Rocky Mountain Power Foundation scholarship recipients for the 2009-10 academic year are as follows:

Basin -- James Caines, microbiology; Samantha Marquard, mechanical engineering.

Casper -- LeeAnn Grapes, biology.

Evanston -- Katelyn Conger, zoology.

Gillette -- Kodi Dixon, mechanical engineering; Evan Goodnough, petroleum engineering.

Green River -- Thomas Ross, mechanical engineering.

Lander -- Kelsey Tramp, animal and veterinary sciences.

Laramie -- Stephen Bagley, math.

Rock River -- Kristy Bowers, animal and veterinary sciences.

Rock Springs -- Gregory Canestrini, chemical engineering.

Star Valley -- Kimberly Burton, nursing.

Torrington -- Sarah Reichert, computer science.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon