Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Pharmacy Students Receive Awards

June 27, 2012 — The University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy honored its outstanding students during the school's recent annual honors and awards banquet.

The UW School of Pharmacy develops outstanding pharmacists capable of delivering interdisciplinary patient-centered care in a rural environment. Professors at the school are experienced in teaching and skilled in clinical service and research. They have been recognized nationally and internationally for their research achievements and contributions to the scientific and clinical fields.

Entry into the School of Pharmacy is limited and competitive; classes of 52 students assure each student receives maximum individual attention. Students have many opportunities such as conducting research, submitting abstracts, presenting posters at state and national meetings, participating in medical outreach programs and participating in national conferences.

Upon admission to UW, students are given access to an array of resources, including online texts and databases used in the curriculum. Graduates of the UW School of Pharmacy consistently place higher than the national average on national licensing examinations.

Student award winners, listed by hometowns, are:

Cheyenne -- Morganne Smyth, Teva Pharmaceuticals Outstanding Student Award and School of Pharmacy Honor Cord (graduated with honors at the top of the class).

Edgewater, Colo. -- Mary Palmquist, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Graduation Award and School of Pharmacy Honor Cord.

Golden, Colo. -- Stephanie Cohn, School of Pharmacy Honor Award.

Laramie -- Jessica Hopper, Lilly Achievement Award; Leena Myran, Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award; and Jenna Sloan, School of Pharmacy Honor Cord.

Minatare, Neb. -- Sara Lookabill, Natural Standard Research Collaboration Award.

Newcastle -- Patrick Baldwin, United States Public Health Service: Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award.

Rapid City, S.D. -- Mikal Rutten, Merck Award in Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry.

Wright -- Shannon Thomas, McKesson Drug Award.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader