Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Awards Top Scholarship to 88 Wyoming Students

February 5, 2015

Eighty-eight outstanding high school seniors from across Wyoming have been selected to receive the 2015 Trustees' Scholars Award, the University of Wyoming's top academic scholarship.

The premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors covers the cost of tuition, fees, room and board for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2015 semester. Students from 31 high schools, along with home-school students, were chosen.

Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). For this year’s award winners -- whose application materials were due by Dec. 1 -- the average GPA is 3.98, and the average ACT score is 33.

“The large number of academically strong Wyoming high school applicants made the selection process incredibly difficult,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says. “The students who received the award represent the excellence of Wyoming high school students across the state. The award is highly competitive, with more and more high-achieving students applying.”

To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.0 cumulative GPA.

This semester, a total of 288 UW students are attending under the Trustees’ Scholars Award, at a total cost of $2.8 million.

Recipients of the 2015 scholarship, listed by high schools they’re attending, are:

Big Piney High School -- Russell Kenney, Dwaine Kenney.

Burlington High School -- Connor Jones, Adam Jones.

Burns High School -- Rachel Derner.

Campbell County High School -- Jacob Weinzierl, Brandon Okray, Jacob Centner, Kathryn Traverso, Trevor Trouchon, Lauren Miller.

Cheyenne Central High School -- Sam Erickson, Christopher Long, Alex Hardy, Cameron Harris, Allison Arp, William Cone Lebeaumont, Tiana Klahn, Justin Kostelecky, Rhonda Liu.

Cheyenne East High School -- Emily Wood, Finley McIlwaine, Karen Perala, Toby Thompson, Michael Downey.

Cheyenne South High School -- Ryan Speight.

Cody High School -- Brittany Chapman.

Douglas High School -- Nicholas Hiser, Justin Hancock.

Encampment High School -- Luke Pantle.

Evanston High School -- Jacob Zaragoza.

Farson-Eden School -- Emily Winward.

Green River High School -- Alan Halverson, Alexander Marchal, Dylan Rust, Taten Knight, Kirsti Patterson, Katarina Knight.

Greybull High School -- Annaliese Fitzsimmons.

Home school -- David Heaney and Elijah Lowry, Cheyenne; Thomas Christensen II, Buford.

Jackson Hole High School -- Jonah Gocke, Anna Bowdler.

Kelly Walsh High School -- Sarah Reed.

Kemmerer High School -- Cameron Ferrarini, Shelden McRoberts.

Lander Valley High School -- Duncan Gans, Daniel Bolding, Absaroka Mann-Wood.

Laramie High School -- Sierra Levene, Delta Burchi, Jordan Mecca, Evan Brewer, Mrudhula Baskaran, Ella DeWolf, Emma Rovani, Daniel Zhu.

Lovell High School -- Alexander Sawaya.

Natrona County High School -- Nathan Green, William Heili, Jeffrey Wen, Branson Taheri, Benjamin Shumate, Brady Lachance, Anne Ritchie.

Pinedale High School -- David Rule.

Powell High School -- Marshall McArthur, Celine Hall, Gretchen Moretti, Bailey Sanders.

Riverside High School -- Quinton Migneault.

Riverton High School -- Dallin Cooper, Jacee Shultz, Caleb Richmond, Sarah McDonald, Kasandra Kister.

Saratoga High School -- Andrew Janecek-Oiler.

Sheridan High School -- Raien Emery, Lachlan Brennan, Marissa Hegy, Joseph Klebba, Elizabeth Winnop.

Southeast Goshen County High School -- Katrina Haines.

Star Valley High School -- Mason Johnson, David Olsen, Kacie Pallan.

Wind River High School -- Robert Buline.

For more information about the UW Trustees’ Scholars Award, as well as other scholarship opportunities at UW, go to

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon