Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Celebrating Diversity Awards Presented at UW

October 28, 2015

Diversity awards were recently presented to University of Wyoming faculty, staff and students to recognize stellar achievements and contributions at UW.

Awards, presented during the Celebrating Diversity dinner, are sponsored by the Committee on Women and People of Color (CoWPoC), which was formed last year. Academic Affairs also sponsored the event.

“The awards are to recognize the stellar achievements and contributions of diverse faculty, staff and students at UW. They were nominated by someone at UW and selected by a CoWPoC subcommittee,” says co-chair Jacqueline Leonard, Science and Mathematics Teaching Center director, and Department of Elementary and Early Childhood professor.

Special awards presented were:

Community Awards -- Rep. James Byrd, House District 44, who also was the event’s keynote speaker; and Fremont County Commissioner Andrea Clifford.

Lifetime Achievement -- Judith Ellsworth, UW College of Education professor emeritus.

Leadership Award -- Jacquelyn Bridgeman, UW College of Law Kepler Professor.

Stellar awards were presented to UW students, staff and faculty:

Students/Research -- Jackalyn Kandle, Naches, Wash.; and Roby Velez, Belleville, N.J.

Students/Service -- Marlin Holmes, Charlotte, N.C.; Sierra Jech, Cody; and Natawsha Mitchell, Torrington.

Staff/Service -- Dolores Cardona, Multicultural Affairs director and associate dean of students; and Vivian Madrid, Student Health Service senior office assistant.

Awards for academic professionals, faculty and administrators in three categories were presented to:

Research -- Mark Clementz, Department of Geology and Geophysics associate professor; Vanessa Fonseca, assistant professor of Latina/o studies and English; and Keonghee Tao Han, UW-Casper assistant professor.

Service -- Cecelia Aragon, Department of Theatre and Dance associate professor, Latina/o studies director and CoWPoC co-chair; Susan Frye, Outreach School dean; and Qi Sun, Department of Professional Studies associate professor.

Teaching -- Christi Boggs, Outreach Credit Programs lecturer; Jed Cabrera, Student Health Service physician’s assistant; Erin Campbell-Stone, Department of Geology and Geophysics lecturer; Ana Houseal, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood assistant professor; Jacqueline Leonard, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood professor; and Rachel Watson, Department of Molecular Biology lecturer.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon