Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Presidential Search Committee Begins Reviewing Applicants

October 19, 2015

The first committee involved in the search for a new University of Wyoming president began reviewing applicants for the job Friday, Oct. 16, and has scheduled another meeting Nov. 6 for that purpose.

Meanwhile, the second search committee is scheduled to hold an organizational meeting Thursday, Oct. 29, to prepare for its work.

The meetings are closed to the public, consistent with the UW Board of Trustees’ plan to keep the names of candidates confidential until the list of finalists is released.

The first search committee met for close to five hours Friday to begin creating a list of 10-15 semifinalists to pass along to the second search committee. The first committee is scheduled to meet again Friday, Nov. 6, at 9 a.m. in the Old Main board room to continue that work and decide whether it is ready to advance a list to the second committee.

Members of the first committee are trustees Jeff Marsh, of Torrington (chair), Dave True, of Casper, Mike Massie, of Laramie, Michelle Sullivan, of Sheridan, and Mel Baldwin, of Afton; Associate Professor Deborah McGriff, of the College of Education; Law Professor Jacquelyn Bridgeman, who has served as interim dean of the College of Law; Noah Hull, doctoral student in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Susan Manown, who’s pursuing law and Master of Business Administration degrees at UW; Kelly Wiseman, business manager in the School of Energy Resources; Mark Gunnerson, control specialist in the UW Physical Plant; UW Foundation board member April Brimmer Kunz; Susan Stubson, of Casper; and John Turner, of Moose.

The second committee is charged with interviewing candidates forwarded by the first committee and selecting three to five finalists. Those finalists will be identified publicly and come to campus for public forums. The Oct. 29 organizational meeting of the second committee is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. in the Old Main board room.

Members of the second committee are trustees Dave Bostrom, of Worland (chair), John McKinley, of Cheyenne, Dick Scarlett, of Jackson, John MacPherson, of Saratoga, and Wava Tully, of Lusk; Professor Cynthia Weinig of the departments of Botany and Molecular Biology, and the Program in Ecology; Professor Jason Shogren of the Department of Economics and Finance; law student Joel Defebaugh, a former president of the Associated Students of UW (ASUW); Brian Schueler, current ASUW president; Josh Decker, manager of UW Real Estate Operations; Rachel Stevens, data and communications manager in the School of Pharmacy; UW Foundation board member Greg Hill; Lynne Cheney, of Jackson; and Lynne Boomgaarden, of Cheyenne.

As part of the selection process, stakeholders will have an opportunity to meet with the finalists and provide feedback to the Board of Trustees. The full board will conduct separate interviews with each finalist, consider the input from constituents and then fulfill its responsibility of selecting the next president. That could happen as early as late December.

For complete information about the presidential search, go to Input on the search is still being accepted via email at

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon