Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

UW Students Elect New President, Senators

April 21, 2016
two men in suits and ties
Michael Rotellini, of Sheridan, left, and Tyler Wolfgang, of Parker, Colo., are the new president and vice president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming. (Spencer Hu Photo)

University of Wyoming students have elected Michael Rotellini, a junior in business administration from Sheridan, as the president of the Associated Students of UW (ASUW).

Tyler Wolfgang, a junior in elementary education from Parker, Colo., was elected vice president. Voter turnout was 1,530 students during the online elections April 18-20.

Rotellini will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. He also will serve as an ex-officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

UW students also elected ASUW senators, who serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students.

Senators, listed by hometown and college represented, are:

Alpine -- Jake Robbins, Arts and Sciences.

Casper -- Courtney Thompson Lichty, Arts and Sciences; Blair Mothersbaugh, Arts and Sciences; Andrew Potter, Business; and Steven Schoeber, Health Sciences.

Cheyenne -- Paul Drake, Engineering; Jacob Kennedy, Agriculture; Sarah Morton, Arts and Sciences; James Munoz, Business; Kyle Thomas, Arts and Sciences; Austin Williamson, Engineering; and Jacob Zumo, Agriculture.

Evanston -- Christal Rohan, Arts and Sciences.

Glenrock -- Breanna Farley, Health Sciences.

Highlands Ranch, Colo. -- Haley Fried, Arts and Sciences.

Lakewood, Colo. -- Dusten Strock, Education.

Laramie -- Joel Defenbaugh, Law; and Edward Oursler, Health Sciences.

Lingle -- Gabrielle Wollert, Business.

Loveland, Colo. -- Jacob Beckett, Arts and Sciences; and Alex McKenna, Health Sciences.

Newcastle -- Mykel Owens, Arts and Sciences.

Powell -- Travis Dooley, Engineering.

Rock Springs -- Jaynie Welsh, Agriculture.

Saratoga -- Daniel Kerbs, Engineering.

Sheridan -- Tyler Julian, Arts and Sciences.

Contact Us

Institutional Communications

Bureau of Mines Building, Room 137


Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-2929


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon